help exchange   Host 7327
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Margaret River
All Year: Sept till May
Area (ha): 13.75
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7327
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2020

Seeking self contained helpers who are in camper vans or car & tent. I ask for 2 hours easy work, per person, per night stayed. If helpers prove to be extra useful..., they will qualify for extra bonus points..., which means...., well you'll have to find that out for yourselves ;-)

At this time of the year the work is very easy - raking leaves, picking up sticks, collecting firewood, weeding the garden and orchard..., some composting fruit trees, occasional house cleaning with agreement..., collecting seaweed from a local boat ramp with a pitch fork for placement around fruit trees.

I provide some great private camp sites here, under some Peppermint trees with tarp stretched out between them...., and a short walk away to toilet and showers. It's all filtered rainwater here so no need for you to purchase water. No ground fires are allowed here - but the total fire ban will be lifted soon.

This is a very special location..., like no other..., 40 years ago it was pasture beside a creek. I've revegetated and re-wilded this land..., now It's a mix of eucalyptus forest, peppermint groves and grass trees..., all bisected by a creek lined with paperbark and jarrah trees. This land is right beside the Leeuwin/Naturaliste National Park and the Iconic Boranup Forest..., and it's walking distance through the forest to Hamelin Bay.


I prefer people who are interested in organic gardening, permaculture methods and sustainability generally.
I require 2 hours help..., per person.., for every night helpers stay here.

Also note: I'll only have 3 beehives this year..., but as the days grow longer and we approach Spring I'll probably pick up a couple of local swarms. The hives are located at various locations around this land.., and the bees are generally pretty docile in nature.

I have good knowledge of this area..., for fishing, diving and surfing..., the best places and conditions. I know the many forest and National Park roads, tracks and MTB trails very well.

The National Park is next door and has many walking and mountain bike trails. It's also within walking distance of beautiful Boranup Beach and Hamelin Bay(it's the closest private property to the surf break at Boranup). This land is a wildlife sanctuary - kangaroo, emu, possum, birds and reptiles, all live and roam safely here. There's a large vegetable/herb garden and orchard and so I'm alway in need helping hands - for weeding, picking up sticks, mowing down weeds/grass and raking the fire breaks and maybe some house work.

Margaret River, Witchcliffe and Augusta and are all just a short drive away...., but the Hamelin Bay area is truly the unchanged part of Margaret River(a town now spoilt by too much tourism).

If you are interested in visiting here - please read and understand the following;

1. For the health safety of everyone staying here we ask that you be able to speak and understand english well.

2. You will need to be fully self contained in your own camper van or car and tent.

3. Sorry we can`t sign off on your 2nd year visa..., but, we do have friends who often provide paid employment for helpers.

4. I ask helpers for 2 hours work per/person per night stayed..., or 10 to 12 hours for a full week.

Play time - it's possible to go surfing, swimming, fishing, snorkelling, bush walking, mountain bike riding, canoeing, beach-combing/exploring, relax with a book in one of the hammocks..., the list of outdoor activities is almost endless. I go fishing once or twice a week for food(weather permitting) - helpers are welcome to join us. Also, I can help visitors to find work in the local area. I do not provide WiFi here but there's very good 4G from a tower next door - Telstra or Optus pre-paid.


Photos -
(1) Where Karri trees and pasture meet.
(2) White sand beach at Boranup. A 3 km walk through quiet forest trails from my farm.
(3) Secret crayfish holes.
(4) Karri tree - Eucalyptus diversicolor.
(5) Indian ocean bounty.
(6) Almost secret fishing hole..., haha

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use