help exchange   Host 7747
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Near Perignan & Med. Sea
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Quarter
Persons: up to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7747
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

Hello there! We need your help!!!!

We are looking for some help with some renovation work on a cottage and some garden clearing over the next 2 weeks or so.

It is beautiful weather and fairly easy work.

We are in a lovely part of France, with panoramic views, twenty minutes from the Mediterranean on the border with Spain just off the road to Barcelona, which is only two hours away.

LOCATION DETAILS - On Franco/Spanish border 20 minutes from Perpignan and near the Mediterranean Sea. Nearest airports are Perpignan and Girona (Spain). Nearest main train stations are Perpignan and Figueres(Spain)

We are not vegetarians and are not smokers (the place is a tinder box it is so dry)

LOCATION DETAILS - SOUTH of FRANCE, Pyrénées Orientales, not far from the last motorway exit before Spain. 20 minutes from Perpignan. Right at the foot of the Pyrenees (Alberes Range) where they tumble into the sea. 20 minutes from the Mediterranean, 4 kms from the Spanish border/Costa Brava. This is the Catalan region of France with its own charm and Franco/Spanish character. Can be reached easily via Perpignan Airport or Girona Aiport just across the border in Spain, a huge Ryanair hub, so if you book ahead it is really cheap to get here. Try Ryanair, Flybe, Aer Lingus, Air France and others.

You can also use any of the following airports: Carcassonne (90 mins away by car) , Bezier (90 mins away), Barcelona (140 mins away), Toulouse (120 mns).

GENERAL INFORMATION - Villa with accommodation for 8, plus a garden flat suitable for 2 people plus an additional cottage that needs renovation.

We have Wifi.

We both enjoy cooking a lot. We have modelled the kitchen on a chef's kitchen. We enjoy cooking a wide variety of foods (English, French, Italian, Chinese, Indian, Spanish/Mexican but we are definitely not vegetarians)

Lots to do here, walking/hiking trails start about 100 metres from the villa which bring you up to the GR10, the national hiking trail from the Med to the Bay of Biscay along the Pyrenees. The Canigou peak (of which we have a panoramic view from the terrace as can be seen in the picture below) is just under 3000 metres high. There is also horse riding, para-gliding, canyoning/climbing, white water rafting and many other sporting and outdoor activities in the region.

With the Med only 20 minutes away, you have all Mediterranean activities available, sailing. motor boating, diving, fishing etc. Paul sails a lot and races.

Or you can just sizzle on the beaches here. There are miles and miles of beaches. There are also some really nice walking/hiking trails along the coast. This is where the Pyrenees tumble down into the sea. Walk along looking out over the vast blue Mediterranean!

Lots of other things also to offer in the area such as really good vineyards where you can go for tastings. Some have restaurants. The Modern Art Museum in Ceret with many Picasso works (Picasso lived in Ceret for 50 years). The Dali museum and Dali's house museum just over the Spanish border. Barcelona is 2 hrs drive away. Take day trips to Perpignan, Carcassonne, Narbonne, the roman city of Beziers and Montpellier the Region's capital.

But for all this we do need some help......

Exterior of the villa needs redecorating. We have done the inside already with help from a great bunch of HelpXers. There are still odd jobs to be done on it and the bungalow needs total renovation but we have not started this yet. We have firewood to chop before the next winter sets in. We need to clear up/tidy the garden. It is all fairly light work.

We are interested in people who like painting/decorating/DIY and gardening work.

We are prepared to offer accommodation and all meals for 6 hours a day times five days per week. We will also help you improve your French and help you explore/enjoy this area or France/Spain.

Pictures below are of the villa, the view from villa terrace and the guest family room in the villa, which has a king size double bed and two large singles.

Ideally non-smokers and no pets.

Since our first HelpX hosting experience we have had some great HelpXers. Apart from getting some work done everyone has mixed in well, has been great fun and enjoyed both the area and the local social life. Thanks for all your great work and good company Neil, Shane, Katrina, Nolan, Ben, Vincent, Alistair and Alan. As you know, some of you have become life-long friends.

reviews (4)
Helper: Alan Hawkins Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 1, 2010
My first Helpxperince was with Paul and Alison for two weeks. I was in Fran... view complete review

Helper: Katrina Rautenberg Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: July 17, 2010
I am a bit late in writing this review, but that is certainly no reflection o... view complete review

Helper: Neil and Shane Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: July 4, 2010
Contrary to what the previous people have noted our HelpX time with Paul and ... view complete review

Helper: Sheri and Michiel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: June 17, 2010
Accommodation in the apartment is comfortable, spacious and separate from the... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use