help exchange   Host 7867
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Duncan
All Year: April 15th - October 1st
Area (ha): 2 +
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7867
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 25, 2020

We will be ready for Helpxers again in April, 2020.

2 hectares in lush Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island. Large organic garden provides food and herbs for extended family and community. Lorene is a Master Herbalist & teacher, so we have hundreds of herbs & native plants for anyone interested in learning medicinal and culinary uses.

We need help with our beautiful organic gardens, and surrounding acreage: planting, weeding, digging, mulching, composting, landscaping, trail blazing, wood refinishing, cabinetry, construction, ongoing maintenance & cleaning in house & outbuildings.....lots of choice for you!

Construction and maintenance hopes for 2020 include new bathroom, painting, cork flooring, outside deck refinishing, fence repairs, bush clearing. We try to find jobs for your interests or existing skills.

Some computer work possible IF you have computer skills and knowledge of website/blogs, marketing; 2 things in which we are deficient.

Any skills are an asset, but we have had helpers who love to learn. We can teach you what you have not done. Much of the work is physical, so apply if you are fit and like this kind of work. We work hard & welcome those who are up for a challenge to keep up with us!

We are an active couple with a home health business, lots of community activities, potlucks & friends; enjoy sports, bicycling, tennis, baseball, swimming & tubing in beautiful Cowichan River, from June - mid Sept. We eat, live and play healthy, especially if we have someone to help get work done!

A couple or single who can work WILLINGLY, sometimes on your own, 6 hrs. per night stay or 30 hours per 7 night stay. (i.e. 5 days at 6 hrs. - 2 days off or other combination that works for you & us).

A minimum 2 week stay - starting Sat or Sunday is preferable. We also offer paid BnB if you are on your way to Tofino or just need a place for one or two nights.

All meals are provided and they are nutritious and delicious (see helpers' comments) - mostly by chef Alain, but with help. HelpXers are welcome to share their specialties, too. Most vegies & fruits come from our garden, eggs from our few chickens, and local/organic as much as we can. Daily household clean-up is expected part of shared living, not part of work hours.

Accommodation may be a tent on platform, near garden or beside Cowichan River, or in Bdrm. in house.

We have 2 cute children who live on another home on our land, and have 2 cute grandboys who we love to spend time with, so we have fun slaying dragons, playing hockey, digging in the garden and swimming with them too.

We speak English, French and are working on Spanish.
We prefer non smokers. Although we love both pets and children, we have tried it and found they are not suitable for this situation.

7 minutes drive from town, 25 mins. by bicycle. 1 Km from Trans Canada Trails. Rides to town available couple of times weekly. Cowichan River paradise 1 block away.

To check if this fits for you & us, and work out details, we prefer to phone you or Skype, FB Messenger interview.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use