help exchange   Host 79212
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79212
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 14, 2019

Beautiful house on 2 acres in a bushy area. About 30-45 min east of the center of Melbourne by train or car. Suits travellers with a car. Flexible help hours (work when you like!) 3 hours per person per night.

Prefer HelpXers with practical, outdoor skills or who can DRIVE A MANUAL PICKUP TRUCK here on the property (not on a public road). Some paid work available.

Great base for tourism around Melbourne, Yarra Valley and Dandenong Ranges. See kangaroos nearby! Vegetarian food provided but you need to cook it. Loan car available by negotiation.

AVAILABLE
14 Feb to 22 Feb
25 Feb to 8 Mar (not available Wed night 27 Feb)
11 Mar to 21 Mar (not available Wed night 13 Mar)
25 Mar to 5 April (not available Wed night 27 Mar)
14 April to 26 April (approx)


We have 2 spare rooms. So we usually have room. Please check current availability. If in doubt please ask. We will always do our best to make sure you have accommodation!

Availability is based around my kids who are only here each 2nd weekend and some Wed nights. I don't have visitors when my children are here. So we are always available except for every second weekend and some Wednesday nights.

HelpXers often stay many months though. They just do some other tourism each 2nd weekend my kids are here then come back.

Our closest train station is Mitcham which is about 30 minutes by train from the city center.

You can do the work whenever it suits you. I try to be flexible and happy to fit in with your plans.

I need help with spreading mulch, weeding and expanding my organic veggie garden. There are chickens to look after and lots of jobs to do. I am trying to preserve remnant trees and replant with indigenous species. So we should be able to find a job to suit you. The work is mostly outside.

Its good if you have old (crappy) clothes and shoes for gardening in.

Typical jobs include
Drive a manual ute (pickup truck) Just on the property here not on the road though
Shovel mulch
Use a ride on mower or line trimmer
Use building power tools eg power saw, jack hammer or compactor
Use a chainsaw or split firewood
Weeding

I work from home so I'm mostly around. So there's always someone coming or going.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use