help exchange   Host 79265
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Southampton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79265
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2020

Namaste! Thank you for stopping by. :-) I hope you will join me on my journey for a month, 2 months, or long-term.

I have a pair of picturesque, riverfront hobby farms, each with a large 4-bedroom house. I am transitioning the farms to more of a communal space with plans for an ashram/yoga retreat in one of the houses.

There are three acres of wild blueberries that I want to convert to organic production, six acres of pasture, and about eight acres of woods that provide more than enough firewood to heat both homes without having to clear-cut any areas. We used to have lots of beautiful alpacas, but sometimes life has other plans for us. My partner and I went our separate ways last year, and the alpacas were sold while I was briefly away. I intend to rebuild the alpaca herd and create beautiful alpaca fibre items again. :-)

In the past, we harvested a small portion of our food from the property, and my vision is to increase that slowly and steadily every year. Some of the new areas of activity that I want to undertake (once the right long-term partners/cohabitants are found) are:
-bee-keeping (which will also help pollinate the blueberry field)
-developing blueberry condiments and other blueberry products
-permaculture
-large vegetable and herb gardens
-alternative, renewable energy to reduce our dependence on the grid
-art studio, as there are a lot of tourists here in the summer
-occasionally playing a bit with my beautiful little children when they are here and, if you are non-English, maybe teaching them a few words of your language

So....I need people (short or long term) with the following skills - or at least an interest in these things:
-animal care - this is especially important as I rebuild the alpaca herd
-general farm labour
-fibre arts (processing the alpaca fibre and making things from it)
-a passion for yoga and meditation, to help me develop and put on programs for guests at the ashram

...and it is always nice to have some company, instead of just me and my sweet cat roaming around this enormous house.

Were you to stay long-term, I would give you a share of the farm profits. For permanent partners, I would love to have one person in charge of the animals, one person in charge of the fibre production, and one person in charge of additional activities / revenue streams.

If/when the two homes ever become full, I plan to start building tiny homes on the property.

I am amenable to stays as short as three weeks, but I prefer at least a month (or longer, if it turns out that we really have good chemistry). In fact, if someone shares my long-term vision for the homestead, the ashram, and the intentional community that I want to build, I am amenable to them staying permanently. :-) I want to live happily ever after with about 5 or 6 kindred spirits.

I am LGBT friendly (am personally pansexual and polyamorous).

I have been vegetarian and try my best to cater to dietary restrictions. Both houses are strictly non-smoking.

I'm always in need of 2 or 3 helpers here at the beginning of June for the annual shearing of the alpacas. It's a strenuous time that needs a few extra pairs of hands. We also need extra help in the first half of September, as we participate in Open Farm Day, where the public can come to see the alpacas.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use