help exchange   Host 79327
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Boxwood Hill
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 58
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79327
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 5, 2017

We are in the process of establishing the property following Permaculture principles. We live totally off the grid with solar power, but still have the conveniences of Satellite TV, Internet & mobile phone (Telstra)

The property is located on the Pallinup River and we have an abundance of wildlife that live on our property, plus some sheep, chickens, ducks & geese.

We are looking for a couple who have a love for nature and the land.
What we would like from you :
Approx 25-30 hours week, flexible on when.
Farm Maintenance – Weeding , lawn-mowing, chainsawing, firewood collection.
Farm Improvements – Fencing, clearing, tree planting, construction of shelters and small building projects, creating paths through bushland, helping with dam construction, and contouring.
Livestock – Feeding, watering, moving
Gardening – Planting and care of fruit trees and vegetable seedlings. general weeding and planting.
Housework - Occasional cooking, dishes etc.
You must be able to work unsupervised, not afraid to get your hands dirty, and "have a go at anything" attitude. If you have other skills or preferences, let us know, happy to give anyone a go.

What we can offer you:
Our property is 1hr from the city of Albany and 40 minutes from the coastal holiday town of Bremer Bay. Both are incredibly beautiful places to visit and explore. We are on the banks of the Pallinup River, wonderful to explore, swim, go fishing, canoeing, or just relax and watch the sun go down.

You will get the opportunity to learn and apply lots of different skills in a rural lifestyle. It comes down to what you are prepared to do and or experience.

Full Board. Basic sleeping accommodation in adjoining extension with access to our home for everything else, including TV, internet & phone. Also have a large, self contained caravan if you prefer .

We are an easy going retired couple that have enjoyed travelling the world and are pleased to have travellers in our home to share stories and cultures.

If you dont have a vehicle but have a licence, we could arrange use of a farm vehicle for you to get out and see the area in exchange for some more hours work. If you don’t have a licence, we regularly go to Albany and are happy to show you the sights.

Not so worried about English speaking skills so long as we can communicate.
Strictly no Smokers please.
You need to be willing to commit to stay for a minimum of 2 weeks, preferably 3. If you like the place, then longer is not a problem
Please feel free to email us.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use