help exchange   Host 79380
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Orgiva
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2 (or 3 max)
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79380
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2019

Hola!,
We run a horse Riding centre in Orgiva, in the Alpujarra mountains in Southern Spain. The riding school is located in central Orgiva just a short walk from the cafes, bars and municipal swimming pool in the town. We have great transport links walking distance from bus stops (for travel to/from Granada/Malaga etc).
We are a English- Irish family with a wonderful 2 year old baby daughter. We live at the riding centre and manage the business. I have lots of experience with horses and I am BHS Qualified. My partner Shiner is Irish and is a Musician and sound engineer.He also does a lot of the manual work around the stables.
We currently have 5 Horses, 1 pony, a cat and 2 dogs.
The riding centre has a large arena, equipment eg jumps, tack room and access to beautiful treks and walks on the doorstep. We lean towards a natural horsemanship approach, all of our horses are barefoot and live in a herd.
I teach at the riding centre, take out treks and train the horses while my partner does most of the maintenance.

We look forward to meeting new guests and welcome you to get involved in our exciting Project.
We are looking for:
* help with the horses
*help with child care
* general maintenance/stable jobs/ building/DIY/grafting/fixing fences etc
* house cleaning & domestic chores
*Building & Construction
* carpentry
* help building a chicken coop/ hen house

Volunteers with experience working with & been around horses is preferred and for those with a good level of riding/horsemanship there may be the opportunity to school/exercise/train our horses..
Helpers who have experience with Toddlers would be ideal as we need help with child care and to keep our daughter entertained & happy so we can get on with things and maybe take some time out.
A positive- hands on mentality and the ability to be self motivated and get on with tasks independently is necessary.The work is hard and Involves mornings. if you are work shy this probably is NOT for you.If you are looking for a free holiday this is NOT for you
This IS for you if you are:
*hard working *Positive * Hardy *have a good sense of humor *Love horses *Love children *Independent *Adventurous * Outdoorsy *have the ability to rough it a little and enjoy camping *energetic *able to work alone
A cheerful and willing attitude is essential.
We offer a work exchange. You work in exchange for accommodation, food and riding.

Duties will also include maintenance, fence fixing, building, cleaning and domestic chores.
Helpers will be involved in horse care and day to day stable chores such as feeding and watering the horses, grooming, cleaning tack, bathing horses, poo picking, tacking up/untacking and helping with riding lessons throughout the week (mainly lead rein lessons)
The position would suit someone who is good with horses and children possibly traveling with a partner who is good at heavy lifting/building /DIY/clearing work and hard graft..or someone who can do both!
Some of the tasks are physically demanding so a good level of fitness and strength is required .Helpers must be flexible in regards to jobs/hours/Days etc etc as things change here day to day.


The more you give the more you get................
We reward Volunteers who are able to put in more hours/extra day- with a free riding lesson or Trek each week.
If volunteers would prefer to work less hours we can offer accommodation only
A minimum stay of 2 weeks is required.

You will gain experience working with horses and have the opportunity to have horse riding lessons. You will see how a riding school works and pick up practical skills. we are close to all the bars and restaurants so a great opportunity to practice your Spanish in and about town.

English & basic Spanish spoken.

Accommodation
Accommodation is basic in an off grid converted Army land rover ambulance, which has a single bed that can also pull out to function as a double bed (sleeps 2). There is Solar powered lighting.There is also a cooker inside.
The land rover is heated with a highly sophisticated Flower pot heating system !
The accommodation would suit people who enjoy been outdoors & camping. Its a cozy space and would suit solo travelers, close friends and couples.

We also have a Caravan (shared) with 2 single beds available for extra sleeping space if the land rover is unavailable. It has heating and a cooker .This would suit friends travelling together or solo travelers who don't mind sharing a space.

we can provide extra blankets in winter.Summers are hot! (no air con)
We have Wifi and a washing machine which you are welcome to use and also a shared bathroom with a shower & toilet. There are charging points for phones, laptops etc.

You can spend your free time as you choose...with the cosmopolitan & alternative town of Orgiva so close there's always lots to do. We are in a forested area with a bar and the local "rastro" (funky second hand market) next door and local walks & the river or the doorstep . The public pool is a 5 minute walk from the riding centre (open July & August) Orgiva is an alternative "new age" kind of town so there are lots of Yoga classes and Pilates classes as well as meditation , massage and healing therapy's on offer locally. our proximity to Orgiva make it very easy to make the most of your spare time . if you want to go further afield daily buses run to the coast, Granada, malaga and local towns from the bus stop which is walking distance from the stables.

There is internet access

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use