help exchange   Host 79484
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


carassai
All Year: 6 weeks october/november
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79484
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 28, 2018

2018. Looking for helpers through April and in October/November on our small organic farm, agriturismo, campsite and B&B. If possible, we prefer 2 people at a time for up to 2 weeks stay.

If you are looking forward to getting your hands dirty and learn the ins and outs of a running a small organic farm, and agriturismo/campsite, then this is the place for you!†

Hello, we are Hans (from Holland) and Elizabeth (from the USA) and over the years with help from family, friends and helpers have created an agriturismo (B&B and campsite) on a small abandoned farm. We are certified organic and we cultivate olives, lavender and some grapes.

We are situated 20 minutes from the Adriatic Sea, in the rolling hills of Le Marche.
We live in the countryside. The nearest village is 3km away where you can find a few shops, post office, coffee bars, and a bus that can take you to the coast and the beach. At the coast you can find buses and trains to take you to other places.

From past experience, we find that a schedule of 3 long days working, then one day off works best as transportation from the village is limited, unless, of course, you have your own car.

During your days off you can visit our village or take the bus to visit other places. There is a bus that leaves in the morning, and another that returns in the evening.

You will sleep in a bed and breakfast room which has a private bathroom, and we provide 3 meals a day plus a mid-morning snack.

The springtime chores are numerous and varied:

-Maintaining our vegetable, herb and flower gardens (weeding, planting, composting, feeding and treating plants)

-Maintenance of outdoor furniture and the building (cleaning, sanding, painting, staining, and fixing if you have basic carpentry skills)

-Stacking and chipping wood.

- General spring yard work, like mowing.

-Helping with general household chores (this is shared work by all of us and not part of the work hours, chores such as cleaning and washing up)

-Setting up the campsite for the season (mostly cleaning, organizing, and repairing)


In the fall we specifically are looking for volunteers to participate with the olive harvest:

-The harvest is done by hand with a small rake. During the harvest we also do some pruning of the trees, so cleaning up and chipping the pruned branches, repairing and setting out and taking in nets is part of the harvest.

Once the olives are harvested, we take them to our nearby mill where they are crushed and transformed into olive oil, it's a fascinating process and you will learn lots about olives and olive oil.


Helpful (but not necessary) skills/experience to have:

-Gardening. We have a lot of ornamentals and a large vegetable garden that needs constant tending to and weeding.

-Sanding and painting. The intense summer sun takes its toll on our outdoor furniture and every year they need some love.

-Carpentry, building, and know-how to re-purpose old stuff. Hans is a super creative guy who re-purposes and fixes just about everything!

-Experience in organic farming/gardening. We are always looking for helpful tips and suggestions!

-Organizing and cleaning. Besides the house, there is the agriturismo and barn that are being used all the time and we need people to help keep it neat!

-People that just enjoy working hard physically outdoors and indoors.


The spring and fall are times of pretty intense work, but itís rewarding and can be a lot of fun, especially when shared with other hardworking people.

Here youíll get a taste of what it's like to live and work in the countryside in Italy, and of course, eat Italian food!

Please do write us if you have any questions.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use