help exchange   Host 79543
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Odemira
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2,5 Ha
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 79543
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 8, 2020

UPDATE • After a big move from a farm to an off grid land, we'll only be able to host again from November •

Hello!
We are Charlotte (45) & Philippe (48), french-italian couple, living in Odemira, Alentejo, South Portugal, since more than 10 years. We've just moved to an off-grid land that we bought 1 year ago. There is no house yet and very few water on the land.

ABOUT WORK
- We mainly need support for our wooden constructions: caravan shelter and kitchen space, garages, chicken houses and spaces, shower place.
- We also need help for the general caring of the trees: watering them, planting new ones and protecting those who needs.
- And we want to make little dry stone walls, around some plantations or little constructions.

These tasks require physical strength, independence, patience and a little common sense. If you have some knowledge or special skills for these, it is wonderful!
We are very flexible about work and timings, and will discuss all this together with you when you arrive.
Generally, we work together 4 days a week, Monday to Thursday, and have Friday to Sunday off, and between 5 and 7 hours a day, depending on the task.
During the 3 days off, you can go visit the region or go to the beach.

ABOUT YOU
We prefer profiles with a photography.
It's better if you come with a camper-van or a caravan as there is not yet commodities on the land. We will provide your electricity.
You can have experience or not on HelpX, as far as you are motivated, good worker, not afraid of adventure and not addicted to your cellphone, you are welcome.
You can stay with us 2 weeks up to 1 month.
If we agreed on a date and period, if any change of program on your side, please keep us informed some days before, so we can re-organize our time.
You can call us, but email is preferred.

ABOUT US
Philippe is an artist painter and illustrator, he's now become a great wooden structure builder.
Charlotte cooks, writes, cuts hair and takes care of the chicken.
We both smoke.
We speak french, portuguese, english, italian, and a little spanish.
We've been traveling a lot and hosting many people via Couchsurfing, or backpackers and hitchhikers through the years and the places we've lived in.
We love meeting people from everywhere and sharing time with them. As we are more or less settled, we now combine hosting with helping since 4 years via HelpX, and we are very grateful to all the people who came and shared these various and beautiful experiences with us.

We bought a wild and empty land 1 year ago, where we've just moved this summer. We were in a farm before for 6 years.
It is for us the opportunities to carry out our projects of reforestation and sustainable life, at least with vegetables, animals, fruits, and some energies.
We've already planted hundreds of trees, made a small vegetable garden, built some storage places, dug ponds to collect rain water and installed a caravan and solar panels.
Yet there is very few water on the land and a lot to do, of course.
We have 2 females dogs (Adip 10 and Mara 5), and 15 chickens & chicks.
The river Mira is passing near the land for those who like to swim :)
We have no smartphone no whatsapp and no internet connexion for the moment.
We are 10min walk of Odemira town, practical shopping places, internet spots, restaurants, public bath and so on.

ABOUT FOOD
We basically eat everything, mostly seasonal plants from the garden and eggs from the chickens. We rarely cook meat, for that, we prefer going to restaurant where it's well prepared.
We offer:
- the 3 meals of the working days, from Monday to Thursday (not included special diet).
- breakfast: eggs, bread, jams, oats, corn flakes, ham, cheese, fruits, cow's milk, coffee, and black, green or home-made herbal teas.
- and of course, spring water as much as you want.
We share fees for:
- the 3 days off if you stay with us: 10€/day.
- wine and bier: 5€/week.
Due to waking-time and diet of each-one, breakfast is not taken together and not prepared. Dinner is taken together around 8 - 9PM, and lunch together or separately depending on the day's schedule. We particularly enjoy dinner time, all together with our helpers, for resting and sharing experiences.

Voilà, if this program pleases you, contact us :)
À bientôt !

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use