help exchange   Host 79561
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Caupenne d'Armagnac
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79561
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 18, 2019

Who we are

We're a very active, young at heart couple of English early retirees who have converted a barn to a house, which we'd like some help to finish, renovating what will become a gite and taking control of the garden, which is a bit of a jungle at the moment. Never having had a garden in England, we're on a steep learning curve with our plot of 5000 square metres (just over an acre).
We're both keen cyclists, Nick especially loves doing cols in the Pyrenees and he keeps bonsai trees. Jackie enjoys sewing, patchwork, textile arts and most things crafty in what little spare time she has, teaches English and basic French and plays guitar. We're members of the local cycling and walking clubs and active members of the local community.
We grow lots of our own fruit and veg and consider ourselves good cooks.

Where we are

We live in the Gers, in south west France, surrounded by vineyards and 4km from a small town whose proudest boast is its motor racing circuit which has events most of the year; car, motorbike and even lorry racing, for which we can get reduced price tickets. We are about an hour's drive from the cities of Auch, Pau and Tarbes and 2 hours from Toulouse, the Atlantic coast and the Pyrenees.
We have a small pool, not big enough to swim in, but lovely on a hot day.

The help we need and what we'll provide in exchange

We would expect 5 hours help a day in exchange for all meals provided, accommodation either in our house or in the gite, depending on requirements, washing, full use of the internet and the possibility of borrowing bikes, if we have the right size for you.
We'd be more than happy to help anyone wishing to improve their English.


We're looking for either one person or a couple to help renovate the gite, mostly painting and decorating and a little building work. There's also plenty of gardening to do, as well as making a parking space and building a "ruin" garden wall.

Pick ups
We could pick up from Mont de Marsan railway station or from Pau or Tarbes/Lourdes airports.

reviews (1)
Helper: Valentin and Gwenaelle Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 27, 2017
C’etait notre première experience Helpx, et nous avons choisis de la faire ch... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use