help exchange   Host 79633
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79633
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 7, 2018

We live on an organic mountain farm in the Hardanger area, one and a half hour east from Bergen. In the summer, we grow vegetables and berries (strawberries, raspberries, red and black currants) and in the winter we work mostly with forestry as we sell birch firewood. We also have about 50 wild sheep which we feed in the winter with the hay we harvest in summer and 90 hens for egg production.
Summer work is mostly harvesting hay and all kind of work with the crops (planting, weeding, harvesting).
There is work all year long when it comes to mechanic or carpentry, so if you ave such skills you may be welcome anytime. However when it comes to work in the field we only welcome people from may/june to september.
We usually prefer to welcome 1 person at a time, but we can eventually welcome 2 at special occasions. We expect 5 hours of work a day for food and accommodation. Helpers get their own room and access to free internet. We share a cooked meal every evening, we provide food for breakfast and lunch but it is up to the helper to make their own. We usually enjoy a social evening all together when we can share about our lives, but we are rather introvert people and enjoy our alone time during the day so we can focus on our work. It would fit best if you like working independently although we are of course here to show the work around and if you have questions.

A little bit about us:
Bjørn (59) has owned the farm since 1999. The farm had been laid down for about 20 years when he moved and he has been working on rising it up ever since. Maintaining buildings, starting up again the production of food and all that it means to restore a farm.
Brenda (30) moved in 2010. She is a dedicated musician and artist into folk/pagan music. She always dreamt of living off the land and growing her own food somewhere retired in the nature.
We have 2 dogs and 2 cats.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use