help exchange   Host 79646
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Jean Poutge
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5.5
Persons: Max 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79646
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 23, 2018

We are Chris and Mike and, following many years of holidays in the Gers, in South West France, we moved here on a permanent basis a year ago, in September 2016. Our home is a Gascony Chateau - part of which dates back to the 14th century - which has a large barn, gite, out buildings, swimming pool and over 5 hectares of land. We run a chambres d'hotes and rent out the gite for self catering. We share our home with a large, friendly, Labradoodle called Hugo! Whilst he is very sociable, we are not able to take anyone travelling with a pet.

Our house is located in a rural setting on the edge of a very small hamlet, 5 kms from a small market town with bars, restaurants, supermarkets etc and 24 kms from the departmental capital, Auch. Toulouse (accessible by train from Auch) is 1.5 hours by car, the Pyrenees and Bordeaux approximately 2 hours drive.

Whilst we have numerous indoor and outdoor projects one of our plans is to make our woodland more accessible to guests and visitors. We are keen to leave a significant area of woodland for wildlife (we have counted almost 50 different species of birds from our land and see deer, red squirrels, hedgehogs etc) but would also like to develop a wild flower garden to attract more butterflies, clear paths to access the old disused railway embankment and river Baise which borders our property and develop a vegetable garden.

As we have only been living in France for a year, we are still learning about our new environment and want to explore and experience the local way of life. We are taking French lessons and are keen to improve our spoken French so help with that would be very welcome. We speak English at home, though and so spoken English is essential.

We are looking for volunteers to help us for 4/5 hours a day in return for food and accommodation, either in our self contained gite or in a room in the chateau. The work is mainly outside but indoor tasks - including help with cooking, cleaning etc, is also gratefully received!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use