help exchange   Host 79682
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79682
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 4, 2018

We have a 26 acre farm, 2.5km from the centre of Beechworth. We eat seasonally from our garden which provides us with most of our vegetables and eggs. We practice the Australian Demeter Biodynamic Method. Our current home garden has been influenced by Linda Woodrow's "The Permaculture Home Garden". This summer we plan to sell seedlings and vegetables. We will be building a strawbale round guesthouse in Summer 2018. We will also be working to set up a market garden that will be approximately 2 acres in size.

Help needed includes all aspects of vegetable growing (preparing beds, sowing seeds, transplanting, weeding, harvesting, preserving and seed saving) and general farm work (eg fencing, setting up and maintaining irrigation and infrastructure). We have 2 creeks from which we are currently removing blackberries and weeds. If interested and skilled, we would also like help with building the strawbale house and yurt with living roofs. As we are establishing a working farm, some work may be repetitive and require physical fitness. We will try to work with you but, as we have a young family, you must also be able to work independently.

Accommodation for 2 in our large canvas bell tent with Queen bed, or BYO. We have a composting toilet and live in a caravan and tent. We will try to share most meals and cook together. Mixed diet, vegetarians catered for. If you wish to bring children, please convince us.

Beechworth is a lovely historic town and a popular tourist destination. We have bikes that you can use around Beechworth. There are a few buses each day from Albury/Wodonga and Wangaratta (both approx 30mins away).

We have good phone and internet reception, but you will need to provide their own internet as our Wifi is prepaid.

No smoking on property.

Initial stay of 2 weeks and longer stays negotiable.

We look forward to your stay and being able to exchange ideas about gardening and growing vegetables.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use