help exchange   Host 79776
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kerikeri
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.3 8.15 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79776
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 24, 2020

We have unlimited broadband VDSL wifi

UPDATE June 24 2020 . . . we are adding a double bedroom to our accommodation (self contained flat) Work should be completed about 7th -10th July. From those dates we expect to become available to workaway helpers/guests as outlined in this profile (below) We will favour a couple, a single young man or two young men. All our guests are non smokers.

UPDATE 10 APRIL 2020 . . . Covid 19 has changed everything. Now we can only hope that we will be able to offer our hospitality again in September/October/November. September is Springtime in New Zealand with warmer weather and longer days and the birds are well into their nesting. October is even better. Please, if you are coming to the Bay of Islands, email us and ask our availability. We enjoy meeting people and sharing with them even more than sharing the work.

Unlimited broadband VDSL wifi

We would welcome a couple or a young man or two young men (the self-contained apartment sleeps two)

WAIMATE NORTH is in the popular Bay of Islands region, near KERIKERI and PAIHIA (pronounced Pie Here)

Our 3.3 hectares of landscaped "estate" has two olive groves of 140 trees and four large ponds with waterlillies and ducks and swamp birds.
There are lots of birds and rabbits, two beautiful white swans and a goose called Eric. Nature surround us.

We often raise orphaned small birds.

Our orchard of thirty trees includes 10 avocado trees of four varieties on rich volcanic soil.

Area of lawns and olive groves is 2.2 hectares mown weekly by Graham. Helpers are never asked to use the powerful, diesel mower.
We have developed from farmland a very neat and peaceful corner of rural New Zealand: 200m of handmade rock walls. 200 metres of gravelled driveway and 200 metres of concrete driveway. Two electric self-opening gates. Thousands of trees. One lovely dog called Gemma.

A large, modern, two-story four-bedroom, four bathroom house.
PLUS a modern, self contained, fully equipped UNIT for the use of helpers/guests. (In New Zealand a UNIT is also called a FLAT or a small apartment.)

This 40 square meter UNIT is fully independent and is equipped for comfort: the kitchen is modern with an electric cooktop and microwave oven and a fridge. Freezer space is available to share.

Hot shower. Bathroom. Easy car parking alongside the door of the UNIT.
Note ... this unit is very clean, very tidy and very neat (like Noelle)

Please help Graham chip and prune trees and tidy up. Plus odd jobs about the property as Graham broke his back and can only work from his quad bike or electric farm vehicle. Help with a small, rich vegetable garden. Noelle might like some help with housekeeping (eg clean windows with a window vacuum) and also with small gardening tasks in her gardens near the house.

We ask for no more than about three hours a day in winter when the days are short, otherwise four hours works well.

Ask to stay EXTRA DAYS FREE, we will enjoy seeing you enjoy your visit.

IMPORTANT NOTE .... HELPERS/GUESTS MUST PROVIDE THEIR OWN TRANSPORT AND FOOD : the all-electric kitchen has every facility. Yes, Graham sometimes cooks and we all occasionally share a meal together, sometimes alfresco (see note below)

Tea and coffee and milk and basic seasonings are supplied, enough to get you started. Bedding and towels are supplied. Share laundry is available, top loading machine.

This is an excellent handy location for day trips to the North (Doubtless Bay, Ninety Mile Beach, Cape Reinga): to the West (Hokianga Harbour, scenic isolated beaches and giant Kauri trees): East to Paihia, (boat trips, islands, walking tracks and historic Russell.)

For trips to Cape Reinga and to the Hokianga and for trips to Russell our guests take the whole day off and this gives them lots of time for exploring. We like to see them making the most of their stay and enjoy hearing about their adventures when they return. You can even leave to go north for a few days camping and return to your unit to continue your stay. We are very relaxed and happy to fit in with your wishes.

We are 16kms to Kerikeri CBD (main shopping village) : 10km to Kerikeri Airport: 18km to Paihia (beach, ferries and maritime centre)

Graham is a retired Bay of Islands cruise boat skipper (captain) , Noelle is a retired receptionist and NZ Navy Hydrographic Office cartographer.

All our guests are NON-SMOKERS, all have their own transport and all provide their own food and cook their meals. This is very popular with our guests. Sometimes we get together for a shared meal cooked by Graham. Sometimes a guest will cook in our own kitchen for all of us. We like that! If you enjoy cooking, why not include that as your contribution to a short working day ? Graham will supply all the ingredients.

Noelle and Graham are sixth generation New Zealanders. Graham writes and publishes non-fiction books. Check this website graham-clifford.com or Google search "Voyage of the Golden Lotus."

We are retired, relaxed and just appreciate cultural exchanges and companionship and some help when it is offered. Since September 2017, 50 visitors from ten countries have stayed with us, many for five weeks and some for up to three return visits. We really do like meeting new people !

Also, Graham says "if you are a pianist you are welcome to play my Atlas piano which has recently been tuned : it is fantastic!"

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use