help exchange   Host 79919
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cambrai
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 35
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79919
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 25, 2019

My wife Sally, our 26 year old son Adam and I are down to earth friendly Aussies, have lived here for 28 years and still haven't got around to finishing off our planned organic vegetable garden. We operate our small engineering and automotive repair business from home which keeps us busy, hence the need for additional help at our home on 35 hectares. Our place is in a small country town of Cambrai with a population of 85 people, approximately 90 minutes drive from Adelaide in South Australia. We have good mobile phone coverage, cable TV, and good internet access. We are 35 kms from the Murray River and 40 kms from the Barossa Valley which is a large wine making area producing world class wines. Cambrai has a general store/post office, 1 hotel, a primary school with a library, local council offices, plus a community swimming pool which is open during the summer months. We offer modern comfortable accommodation in our home with 3 good meals a day in exchange for about 5 hours help per day, 5 to 6 days a week, negotiable. On your days off we can give you a lift to local places of interest. We have 1 very friendly dog, 1 friendly cat, 2 pet non-venomous snakes about 3 metres in length, in their own enclosures, 3 horses, 10 chickens, occasionally about 30 to 40 sheep in our paddock, the occasional kangaroo and wombat, rabbit and foxes. We have 2 empty double bedrooms and 1 empty single bedroom, 1 spare bathroom with separate toilet, and a laundry at one end of our house for guests. We also have a games room with a bar, a pool table, a table tennis table, a wide screen TV, a sound system, an organ for the musically minded, and a gymnasium. About the only thing we ask is that guests are friendly, clean, tidy and honest, and no smoking inside the house. We drive to Adelaide one day each week, Murray Bridge once or twice a week, Mannum most days, and other areas almost daily, so we are not as isolated as it would appear. We have had Helpers stay from France, China, Japan and Taiwan, as well as Backpackers from Holland and Korea and they all enjoyed themselves while they were here with us. I would also like to add that Sally is a good cook and can cook almost any type of food. So if you want to experience an Aussie, small country town family lifestyle, just send us an email. We look forward to meeting you. If you would like to stay with us please let us know in advance as it is hard to co-ordinate accommodation for people at short notice. Please note, we prefer people to stay for at least 2 weeks or more to make it viable for us. Have a look at references people have left for us and you will get an idea of what to expect when you stay with us.
Thanks for your interest :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use