help exchange   Host 79994
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Castelo Branco
All Year: April to November
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79994
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 14, 2019

SEPTEMBER -> NOVEMBER 2019: IN NEED OF BUILDING / ROOFING SKILLS as we're rebuilding the house from bottom to top with granit stones :)

Hi everyone! My name is Cloe, I'm 35 years old and come from Belgium. French and english are both my mother tongues. My portuguese is getting better from day to day.

I just bought a 2 ha land on the east side of Portugal, close to Fundao. In the long term I would like to build this land into a funky permaculture farm/campsite with different types of accommodations (tipis, yurts, caravans, tree houses,...) as there are plenty of hikes and cycling opportunities here. Everything is to do as I'm alone (with my 2 very friendly dogs) and it is only the very first stages of the project.

A river is boarding the land but unfortunately is dry in summer.
I have many olive trees on the land as well as other fruit trees.
There is a small house on the land that needs renovation (no electricity or running water). There is a cafe at walking distance (1km) with very friendly Portuguese locals.
Basically everything needs to be done so if you're eager to live a simple and true experience, welcome!

The most important to me is having open minded and enthusiastic volunteers. BUT! Volunteers with gardening or building skills are mostly needed. People who have had previous experience with these kind of projects are also very helpful.

At the moment I'm living in my caravan and so accommodation would be in tents or in the house (which basically has 4 walls and a roof BUT with 2 small rooms). I'm currently searching for caravans to accommodate friends and volunteers.
Toilets are compost ones and showers will have to be taken with a solar shower. There is a communal inside kitchen.

Volunteers will be immersed in pure portuguese countryside life. The locals like spending time with us foreigners, having a few drinks at the cafe and teaching us portuguese. Sometimes they come and help on the land, giving me tips on wild flora and fauna.

It is hot and dry here in summer but wet and cold in winter.

The land is surrounded (max. 30km distance) by many lakes, rivers, mountains and just beautiful landscpaes. 50km up north is an enormous nature reserve : the highest mountain of Portugal (Sierra Estrela) where there are also high altitude lakes with clear water and great hikes to do. I love hiking and my dogs too :)
Every monday there is a very nice market in the city of Fundao.

Overall, i would like to say that my way of living is respectful of nature and others. I also love partying, dancing and having a good time with friends so a trip to Lisboa or any other towns can be possible, we just need to talk about it. Or maybe even organise an event here on the land?? Anything is possible!

Love & Light :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use