help exchange   Host 80003
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co Waterford
All Year: April 2019
Area (ha): 2 acres approx
Persons: 2(2 friends/couple)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 80003
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 26, 2019

Looking for a host? Hi, my name is Karen.I live with my partner,three dogs and two cats in a four hundred year old cottage in County Waterford just outside the village of Aglish and approximately 3 km from the river Blackwater. We are looking for help in converting an old stone stable into accommadation . We are perfectly situated for anyone looking to explore the real Ireland. St.Declans Way-one of Irelands ancient pilgrim routes is practically on our doorstep. The route takes 96km{56 miles}from Ardmore in county Waterford to Cashel in County Tipperary. As part of the Blackwater river valley the area is very picturesque.We are less than 1 hr from Cork city and the same from Waterford city for those looking to explore further. The popular seaside town of Dungarvan , framed by the Comeragh Mountains{approx. 16 km away} links to Waterford city via the Waterford Greenway, Irelands largest cycle path .We are also situated approx. 15 km from An Rinn ,a traditional Irish speaking Gaeltacht area .Tradespeople of any kind would be greatly appreciated for this project. Accomadation (in a caravan) and meals (apart from breakfast) would be provided in return for 20hrs work helping out per week.Helpers with no dietary requirements please. Internet access is available along with the use of laundry facilities.The use of a kayak and bicycle would also be available. Ideally we would be looking for someone to stay a minimum of three weeks. Anyone hoping to stay should ideally have transport as we live in a rural location and there isn't public transport nearby.I am a qualified chef by trade and am currently working as a baker one of Irelands most prestigious bakeries, so I can help anyone looking to upskill in cooking/baking. My partner is a retired paramedic avid gardner. guitar, Irish music enthusiast and seasonal salmon fisherman.He is talented at both hot and cold smoking fish and practices this during the fishing season.He suffered a back injury when working, hence the reason we are looking for helpers. Along with our cats and dogs we also keep chickens, ducks and geese. During summer months we grow most of our own veg and have various fruit trees. We try to keep things as organic as possible . We are easy going friendly people and are happy to help anyone looking to improve their English and to explore more of Ireland. Please don't hesitate to contact me for more details.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use