help exchange   Host 80249
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 80249
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 20, 2019

March 2019 UPDATE
General house maintenance
Tree pruning and lawnmowing
creation of patio area and steps
Scott and Fiona are married couple in late 40s/early 50s. We have recently bought a property which includes several old buildings, one of which is heritage-listed, and 2 rented cottages in addition to our residence, with local river frontage.
There is a lot of work to tidy up the grounds, establish gardens, orchards and paths, as well as continuing to work to eradicate blackberry and noxious weed stands.
We will also be renovating all the buildings, so replacing verandah timbers, painting, patching damaged weatherboard, reinstating missing stairs and decking. There are also internal renovations - completing a bathroom, tiling with granite and marble offcuts, internal walls.
Accommodation for volunteers is in a large 10m caravan, which has a double bed and 2 bunks, as well as a camp toilet and kitchenette.
Access to an outdoor bathroom is also available.
We presently use this outdoor bathroom ourselves while renovating our house. While one cottage is empty, the bathroom there can be used.
We don't have children, but do have 8 indoor pedigree Ragdoll cats.
We have tank water pumped straight from the local crystal clear river.
We are only 2km from 2 cafes, hotel, shop and bakery. The village has a population of about 300. The use of bicycles may be arranged.
We have both travelled and want to pay forward the hospitality we were shown.
We expect 25 hours work for 7 nights accommodation and food.
We offer most lunches and dinners as well as 1 breakfast/brunch per week. You would prepare your own breakfasts in the van, although at least once a week we hope to share breakfast/brunch and hopefully you cook us 1 evening meal as part of a cultural exchange. We want to learn from you too.
We are 50km to great beaches and whale watching in season (May-July heading north, Sept-Nov heading south), and 145km to the snow in season (June-September). Stunning seafood area.
We are on a highway that has a daily rail bus service to Canberra, which is 200km. The rail bus run is from Canberra through Cooma, Bemboka and Bega to Eden, and also has links to the Melbourne to Eden Rail bus.
Wildlife sightings in our yard this week - 1 kangaroo, wallaby, brush-tailed possum.
ZERO tolerance policy on illicit drugs and plants.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use