help exchange   Host 80312
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Grange-Over-Sands
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30.35
Persons: 5
Category: Other
Host ID: 80312
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 4, 2019

We are very lucky to live on a farm in the beautiful Lake District, just on the edge of the National Park in Cumbria; the farm dates back to the late 1600's. Over the years parts of it have been renovated and added to and some parts are looking a little sorry for themselves! My mother, myself, my sister and my 7yr old nephew live and work on the farm running a small accommodation business and a successful Friesian horse equestrian centre. We have big plans for the place in the future, however for now we could do with a little help with day-to-day living.

We are on the outskirts of the lovely village of Cartmel which is home to a small racecourse, several very good restaurants and it is famous for it's Sticky Toffee Pudding. You can walk into the village from the farm in just under 20 minutes and there is a local grocery store and several pubs where you can meet friendly locals and visitors from all over the world. The nearest town is Kendal which is about a 20 minute drive away or you can get a bus from the next village along, Grange-over-Sands.

The scenery here is stunning and we have a fantastic view from the farm as we sit high above the Cartmel Valley. The wonderful green pastures are down to the weather which can be sunny and dry, or wet and windy, yet both contribute to the soothing and therapeutic atmosphere of the countryside.

We are happy to take couples, friends or individual travellers and being a relaxed yet hard working family, we like to make our guests, visitors and workers welcome; we very much appreciate those who can take instruction as well as work on their own initiative, as we may not get much time to spend with you. Please note that the only animals on the farm are horses and dogs, although we let our neighbour graze his cattle and sheep on the land.

We are looking for people to help out with one or more of the following:

(a) Gardening/field maintenance such as clearing brambles & ivy, cutting down hedges, minor tree surgery, clearing weeds and dry stone walling if you have the experience. This involves working outside in all weathers so waterproofs are needed!

(b) Building maintenance/carpentry - help with anything from plumbing to roofing!

(c) General decorating inside and outside the farm.

(d) Cleaning bedrooms and the rest of the house. General tidying and helping out. Attention to detail, razor sharp eyesight and a little cleaning OCD are great!

(e) For those who are very experienced with horses we will ask for help mucking out stables, helping feed the horses, moving the horses from field to field & grooming. We cannot guarantee that you will ride however you will get to spend plenty of time with these wonderful, intelligent animals.




Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use