help exchange   Host 80908
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Daylesford
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3/4
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 80908
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2019

landscape architect/musician and burmese cats living on a beautiful 1/2 acre block/house less than 1.5 hrs from melbourne.
Looking for man/couple to help out over early spring summer starting mid september for min week at a time (could be up to a month or more as suits)

We bnb our house on weekends so sunday-friday you would have your own room and bathroom in our fab home and on weekends we move on to the block and you would have your own caravan, though there is no toilet on the block. Otherwise we may be able to share you to another family in daylesford for weekends or you are free to travel to melbourne or surrounds.
We harvest and make jams and yummy things seasonally and are slowly extending and maintaining the gardens and orchard we have. We play music and have a piano and guitars at home and are close to town and cafes/good coffee (we do have a coffee machine!) We cook fab food and grow a bunch of stuff.

I need help with (and will work with you)
-building a basic carport/shed
-putting in stumps and subfloor for our barn
-making a compost station from pallets
-general gardening (digging, mulching, compost) -building veggie and garden beds, paths, mowing)
-tree removal (chainsaw)
-enjoying being creative, productive, active and friendly!

secondary work
-house painting
-household cleaning/setting up

You'll help us 6 hours a day (5days/week) in exchange for fab accommodation, meals and lively conversation!
Couples are welcome! We are a Non smoking home and cannot cater for vegan/gluten free but can manage vegetarian. We encourage helpxers to cook at least once a week and we all eat together. We have basic tools, internet access and loads of enthusiasm and a good work ethic. We have a big garden that is in development stage and are going to build a small shed/carport, perhaps a temporary composting loo (to service the block on weekends when the house is booked so we can so need someone who has general building/carpentry experience. We will utilise a lot of recycled materials!
We have two bikes you can ride and are a short walk into town centre

weekends you'll have to yourself to explore the local region, we can help out with lifts here and there and we might even head to melbourne for weekends so you can get a lift with us. There may be locals who can also house you over weekends in Daylesford.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use