help exchange   Host 80994
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ormstown
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 80994
Region: Quebec

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 12, 2017

[Je parle anglais et francais. Si vous voulez communiquer en francais, SVP envoyer message, merci.]
Room and homestay available in lovely hundred-year-old brick house, in beautiful rural village in south-western Quebec. I've had lots of student roommates in the past and enjoy having guests. We can chat at times, and you have a big space of your own for privacy when you want it. I can help you with English and French, take you to the occasional musical event, and do some canoeing and maybe skiing now and then. You have plenty of time and peace and quiet for your own work and study.
The room available is extremely large, separated into a bedroom area and a sitting area. There are three large windows and a closet space. There is a small toilet next to the room. (Share large bathroom and shower.) The room has a built-in electric heater with its own thermostat control.
There is a fairly good internet connection and I watch TV off air, five channels at the moment.
A second much smaller room is also available if two people come together; sitting area could be shared.
This is a farming area where corn and soybeans and vegetables and berries are grown; there are also many apple orchards in the hills and several maple sugar producers in the area. Cattle and pigs are raised and there are a few horse farms. Farms are both organic and not. Many can be reached by bicycle.
Montreal, one of the world's great cities and a hub of arts and music and culture, is easily accessible, an hour and a half away.

I am a semi-retired teacher (math and French and English) still doing some tutoring, some in person and some online. For health reasons I can't be as physically active as I would like so I need help with the house and yard and garden. Work varies (for example) from vacuuming to organizing a library to painting to putting up a ceiling fan indoors; digging and maintaining a small organic vegetable garden and helping me with my flower garden outdoors.
I don't need a full four hours or even two hours per day work, so if you have Canadian work permission you would be welcome to look for paid work on one of the many local farms. Jobs are usually available.
You might also be interested in studying. Acceptable internet speed is available. If you are qualified for entry there are English, French, and adult education high school level classes in town. I am a professional tutor and can help support distance education.

There is bus service to the city of Montreal on a somewhat limited schedule. I have a car and can arrange to meet guests when the bus is not running. Guests are encouraged to join me at times, and to go in themselves to enjoy the cultural riches of our city.

I am very allergic to perfumes so all scented cosmetic and cleaning products are banned in the house. Also for health reasons this is a one hundred percent non-smoking non-tobacco home. Other than that I am quite tolerant. There is one indoor-outdoor cat in the house. No other animals can be permitted.
I am NOT vegetarian and must eat meat due to above health issues. The food is gluten free, all home cooked, and mostly natural. If you would like to share my food I'm a good cook and like feeding people and we can work a cost share for either cash or work. Otherwise you can obtain food and cook for yourself, open kitchen.

Please contact me online and we can talk about plans.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use