help exchange   Host 81045
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St. Andrew's
All Year: May-October
Area (ha): .65
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 81045
Region: Newfoundland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 28, 2019

We are a young-ish couple who started up a small eco-hostel in spring 2018 in the Codroy Valley of southwest Newfoundland. We're looking for a motivated helper in 2020 who is genuinely interested in learning with us how to live off grid and sharing skills. Possibility of both short- and long-term stays, depending on the situation. Attention winter volunteers: We are happy to have people around at Bert Bark Inn in the winter months (Jan-May) but since the workload is significantly less apart from some chopping of wood and other odds & ends we would expect you to pitch in for groceries and cooking.

Currently we rent out rooms in a hostel but our vision is to make it less about tourism and more about sustainability education and permaculture in action. We'll still be a hostel but with lots of activities on the go every day, whether it's food & gardening workshops, "free school", movie screenings, sports & games, meditation, music, festivals, etc. All skills and knowledge could potentially be teachable to community members, tourists, even us. Ideally, our helper would want to build this place with us and be part of our team. Our goal is to share a co-op type space where different people take care of it throughout the year. If you have specific skills you'd like to share with the community, we do host diverse workshops that are open to the public. Locals have been quite receptive to our workshops so you'd have the opportunity to earn a bit of cash as well.

We built an 18 foot geodesic dome greenhouse in 2018. This year, we hope to work on some the following projects: outdoor clay rocket stove/oven; mass rocket heater for the greenhouse; balcony for our lounge/cinema/event space; willow tree gazebo; bicycle-powered washing machine; rainwater collection; mushroom cultivation; composting & humanure; kelp harvesting; furniture construction from salvaged materials; murals & general artistic design; horticulture & landscape design; alternative energy generation; structural repairs; permaculture & gardening help; help with chickens; trail construction; pond building; sourdough baking for guests.

We're open to experimentation and have space to let volunteers explore their passions and projects, even if not on the above list. We expect helpers to put in 5-6 hours a day (9-12 and 2-5), 5 days a week. In exchange for help, fresh vegan cooking ingredients are provided on work days (everyone is expected to take turns in the kitchen), as well as ample free time to explore the area. On weekends, helpers are welcome to help themselves to food & herbs from the garden but must take care of other food items on their own.

We live at a dead end, on a river surrounded by mountains with impressive hikes, are steps away from a beautiful beach, and offer kayaks & bikes to our helpers. Our rural community is small and tight-knit. We have WiFi but no TV. We live simply, avoiding processed products, and eat a strict vegan diet. Our garden provides much of our food. Our cats wander freely both outdoors and indoors. Individual helpers may stay in a dorm bed; couples must camp. There is a lot of camping space and we can provide a tent/bedding. We strive to live with mindful intention but don't take ourselves too seriously. English, French, Italian, some Spanish, and a smackering of other languages spoken. LGBTQ friendly.

reviews (2)
Helper: Alise Brante Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Latvia Date: July 17, 2018
Roshni and Lana are amazing! They have made their property pretty much zero ... view complete review

Helper: Fabian and Katharina Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 21, 2018
Fabian and I (Germans) worked at BertBarkInn for one week. We really enjoyed ... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use