help exchange   Host 81141
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Monte Giberto
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10 acres
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 81141
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 20, 2017

We are a friendly English family living our dream in Monte Giberto, Italy. Six years ago we bought a derelict farmhouse with 10 acres of land including an Olive grove. We have spent a number of years renovating the house, gardens and land. Our aim is to be self-sufficient in providing much of our own energy resources and organic food. We now have two children and a small number of dogs and cats and we all speak various levels of Italian (except the pets!). We also assist local Italian children to improve their English.

Each Oct-Nov we work the olive groves on our land and take them to the local 'Cantina' to have them pressed for Olive Oil. It's a very interesting process and each year we hope to beat our previous years press (this year was 30 litres!)

The land, itself, has stunning views over the Italian landscape and we enjoy very warm Summers and in Winter we have the added bonus of a Ski resort nearby.

Monte Giberto is located 20 minutes drive from the East coast of Italy, approximately halfway between Ancona and Pescara airports. Although a little remote there is still plenty to do at different times of the year including an outdoor swimming pool (not onsite), skiing/snowboarding, sightseeing, bars and cafes, watersports, weekly markets etc. Rome is only a 3 hour drive away for further exploration. We are happy to offer advice with travelling to and from our location and to areas of interest.

During the Summer we run a business hiring out paddleboards to tourists. We may also need assistance with this and you could also have the opportunity to try paddleboarding too!

Andy works full-time and I (Harriet) work three days a week as a freelance designer and run my own online business whilst the kids are at school. We are happy to assist volunteers with getting to and from public transport when possible as we understand volunteers will want to explore the area and we are happy to be flexible with work days to fit in with local transport arrangements.

We are looking for volunteers who are fun, friendly, like children and pets, hard-working and who also want to see the area. We need assistance with the following (not limited to): Childcare, gardening, maintenance and repair, IT, cleaning etc. In return we will provide you with more than comfortable accommodation and wholesome food (Andy loves cooking!). We do think it's nice for everyone to get involved with cooking so we ask volunteers to cook a traditional meal one evening per week (ingredients provided). We can accommodate two volunteers at a time (1x couple) or 1 individual in double room. We will alternate the various jobs but please let us know what your specific interests are (i.e. Carpentry, gardening, animals etc.) and we will try to accommodate this as much as possible.

Our home is in a magical area, particularly during the Summer when there are many Festivals on - you will not be bored!

Travellers will become part of the family! You will learn about the Italian culture, particularly the local area and enjoy everything that Monte Giberto has to offer. Learn about the olive harvest process and even take away a sample from the fruits of your labour! You will have access to many types of watersports and be able to engage with tourists from other countries. Improve your language skills both in English and Italian.

Easy train access from Bologna to Porto San Giorgio and various buses - please contact us for more specific details.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use