help exchange   Host 81351
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Port Chalmers
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 81351
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 9, 2018

The homestay is in a private home in a harbour bay not far from the Port of Otago. It is 10 kilometers from the Stadium in the nearest city, Dunedin. There are regular buses to and from the city, and Port has a supermarket, garage for fuel, cafes, galleries etc as well as a library and museum.
There is a double bed that looks out over the harbour towards the Peninsula and gets the early sun.

I have a partner who lives in Christchurch working a contract job. I am recovering from shoulder surgery and an injured knee. We would appreciate help in the garden (organic) which is becoming a jungle this summer, and with spring cleaning type stuff, maybe some painting, so that not all our weekends are taken up with it.

From the house you can walk in any direction to enjoy the harbourside or head up to the bush. It is 2 minutes walk to the harbour.
Orokanui Ecosanctuary is a 15 min drive and so is Aramoana. There are really good walks not far away - Mihiwaka, Heywards Point, Grahams Bush. You can even go out to Quarantine Island and stay and volunteer some time on conservation.
There is often live music in Port on a Friday night and a selection of pubs.

If you're keen to come and enjoy a neat spot near Dunedin you will have a relaxing time as well as giving me a hand. Careys Bay is renowned for its birdsong. As I work full time you need to aim for arriving on a Friday so we can get stuff done together during weekend and then you get a holiday.
The best fit is for someone in 30's or older who has experience with, and loves gardening.

I look forward to meeting you.
All the best with your adventures.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use