help exchange   Host 81456
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 15
Persons: 12
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 81456
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 31, 2017

Hello guys!

I'm Timo and my life is all about farming and growing organic berries :) I love what I'm doing and i don't think it as a work but a lifestyle. And having volunteers makes farming even more fun!

I use modern growing technologies as polytunnels, table top and substrate growing systems. My purpose is to make organic growing also efficient. I am the only one in Finland using these technologies in organic berry farming so you would be also be doing something new and developing new methods for the future. I also grow berries in a "normal" way in a open field.

Your work can be anything from planting, nursering and harvesting berries to renovating and householding the old buildings, also some forest management tasks depending the time of your visit.

Farm is in a beautiful place next to lake and most fields are around it but i also have fields other side of the lake. There we go by rowing boats (or by bikes). If you go by boat its c. 400m and by bike or car 6km. There is boats and bikes for you to use.

There are several old buildings at the farm as it has history since 1657 and I'm renovating them step by step. There is two old traditional wooden log houses, where the accommodation is provided. The main house is big about 200m2 and other smaller traditional Finnish summer barn. And of course there is also the sauna next to lake, where we wash up and relax.

I'm 36 years old man and i have traveled and lived in different countries so i understand well different cultures. I have also done wwoofing/volunteering in Canary Islands and in Brazil, so i know the principles of wwoofing/volunteering very well and i also know what makes a good host! :) If you have any questions, just contact me and i will get back to you as soon as possible!

Truly yours, Timo :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use