help exchange   Host 81481
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Halesworth, Suffolk
All Year: Now mid-September-October
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 81481
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 10, 2019

We run a small yurt camp site, with 4 Yurts and a Shepherd`s Hut. We really enjoyed welcoming 3 HelpX people in 2018 and are now looking for a helper who can help us put the yurts to bed at the end of the season, from mid-September for about 4 weeks. We aim to clean and re-waterproof each yurt before packing it away for the winter and during this period we also have some painting work to do (inside and outside our renovated barn) and landscaping work to do in the meadow, around the garden and maintaining the farm buildings. We can help if you want to learn more about basic carpentry and painting skills, and landscaping/gardening for wildlife.
We're a "Green" environmentally award winning site, running for 9 years and we also have a "green" approach to our house, with solar pv and solar panels for hot water, as well as a wood pellet boiler. Whilst not registered organic, we have an organic sensibility and don`t use any chemicals on the land or on site.
We (Kim and Nick) live in Suffolk, in the East of England, in a 17th century renovated farmhouse. The house and our 5 acres is very rural; buses run past the front door to the nearest town of Halesworth (3 miles) with good shops and an arts centre, and beyond to the beach at Southwold and to Beccles, a bustling town at the southern end of the Norfolk Broads. There`s a station 2 miles away for trains to London, a bus stop (one mile away) to the lively city of Norwich and we have bicycles to borrow. Our village of Westhall is quiet with a small shop and village hall - it will help if you feel comfortable keeping yourself occupied when not working. We have a good range of books to borrow and can tell you about what's happening locally.

This is a fun time with a lot of different experiences and jobs to do. Some physical strength is needed for these jobs but nothing exceptional - what`s important is an enthusiasm and willingness to get on with jobs as well as an eye for detail and a pride in work well done (we always try to look at things through the eyes of our holiday guests).

We try to match tasks to your skills and are happy to teach you; we really appreciate people who are competent, practical, hard-working and able to take the initiative and think about what needs to be done. Do let us know what experience you have already or any tasks that particularly interest you, please include a photo with your profile. We`d prefer a minimum stay of 3 weeks.

We`d like help for 25 hours a week (per person) over 5 days though we can be flexible.

We offer accommodation in our house - there`s a lovely double bedroom with own bathroom and use of a (shared) sitting room. We provide meals and welcome any cooking skills or new recipes you`d like to share with us. We appreciate any help with some of the normal household chores, washing up, hanging out the laundry, helping with cooking, whatever needs to be done. It works well for us when people just slot in and take their share in what`s needed.

We don`t have a TV here but do have broadband though it`s fairly slow. The mobile signal can be patchy. We eat a mainly vegetarian diet with a lot of whole-food cooking and use of vegetables from the garden whenever possible. We're a non-smoking household and are looking for non-smokers to stay.

We enjoy walking and cycling, National Cycle Route 1 (the North Sea Route) runs past the front door and the lanes are really lovely and quiet for exploring by bike and we run a monthly full moon walk for friends and yurt guests so can recommend plenty of places round and about to explore. We are lucky to live about 8 miles from beautiful coastline with rivers, forests, heathland and arable farmland all around. The area is pretty flat - Suffolk doesn`t have much in the way of hills which makes cycling easier.

Our son, who is now 26, has been travelling and living in continental Europe for the last 6 years and has met some wonderful people and learnt a lot. We`ve been impressed with the hospitality he`s been shown along the way and the skills he`s learnt from his various Woofing and HelpX type roles so we thought we`d like to reciprocate and welcome people into our home to share what we have and enjoy building new relationships.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use