help exchange   Host 81504
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pleurtuit
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 81504
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 4, 2017

Having been a volunteer myself on various organic farms and homes, I feel it is my turn to open my home to travelers. I'm 26yo living on my family's property.

The property has various outbuildings, chickens, a large greenhouse, a vegetable patch, fruit trees and generally just a huge garden to play with. You would be hosted in a wooden chalet, where I live with housemates. It's a friendly environment and a creative one too!

Activities vary here:
1)We're in the middle of renovating an old barn. At the moment, I need all hands on deck to clear the space! It's filled with wooden furniture, some to be turned into fire wood others to be cleaned off and stored.

2)We're creating a sustainable garden, playing with the digger to shape the land, planting trees, preparing the beds for next spring, sewing seeds, turn over compost heap, fix the greenhouse and also prepare the beds, weeding, watering, cutting old branches etc...

3)we've got a couple of workshops, with all the tools you can think of for those interested in mechanics, welding and woodwork. My father has a passion for old cars. And I am interested in fixing old boats. There's also an old trailor that could be turned into a tiny house! A friend of ours recycled an old gas bottle into a barbecue, if you have an idea, it's all there to be made possible!

4) Daily chores : feeding the chickens, collecting ripe fruit and veg, watering plants, tending the fire, stacking up wood etc...

5) But of course we also like to chill, reading, Knitting and painting by the fireplace. There's always a huge pot of tea brewing on the stove and cakes being baked in the oven... Cooking and cleaning is taken in turns by all of us.

That sums up our day to day life...
I'm a sailor by profession, I am often at sea, but also at home for long periods of time... This area has a maritime influence, so sailing and fishing on the cards on clear days for those interested.(Kayak, surfing, diving also possible) Only 5mins drive to the closest harbour . We can also cycle to the beach in 30 mins from the farm!
There's also two horse riding schools either side of our property.

I'm looking for travellers from all backgrounds to come and help on this project. With a good sense of humour and a positive energy.
Generally happy to discover the "Breton" culture. Oh yeah did I mention..I have a British background? English is often spoken at home, as well as French of course. But it should make the transition easier for non french speaking guests.

Anyway, looking forward to hear from you.

ESTELLE

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use