help exchange   Host 81638
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Fremantle
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 81638
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 2, 2020

We are a small family - two parents and a 5 year old boy. We also have a couple of very friendly cats. Our place is 5 minutes walk from the centre of Fremantle, 10 minutes walk to the beach and close to all amenities. Fremantle is a great transportation hub and has an amazing live music, cafe and arts scene. Our house is 110 years old with high ceilings and a chilled out vibe in a friendly street close to Wray Ave. We've just finished renovating the interior and are about to start work on the garden.

Simon is an artist, Suzi is a writer and Finn is a raconteur and explorer. We are also enthusiastic vergeside collectors who try to salvage things from other people's rubbish before it reaches landfill and to rehome it. Our home is calm and gentle and we are open minded and down to earth. We use solar electricity, compost, recycle what we can, use our grey-water in the garden and eat a whole food diet. We are pragmatic about those choices and don't get fanatic.

We are looking for a single person or couple (we have one double bed to share) to stay with us. You'll be helping with general maintenance, cleaning, landscaping projects, gardening and odd jobs, depending on skills and the projects that we have on the go.

Experience in gardening and or landscaping would be great, but not necessary. We're keen to learn as much as we can about permaculture, so if you have any knowledge in that department that would be great.

We ask for 3 hours per day, preferably in the mornings, Monday to Friday, with the weekends off to do your own thing. If you are a couple then it will be 3 hours per day each.

You need to be child and cat friendly. Must be a non smoker and speak some English so that we can all communicate without confusion. We will expect you to give a hand as you would in a share house, so washing dishes and cleaning up after yourself etc. is done by all house members.

In return we offer a small private studio bedroom (shown with single bed in the photos, but we have swapped the single for a double) with linen, a/c, wifi and own toilet and some food.

***Because Finn has just started fulltime school for the first time he is super tired in the evenings, so until he is settled we aren't sharing meals with our guests as we need to help our very sleepy kid make it through to bedtime and that takes quite a lot of attention at meal times! We will provide food for breakfast, lunch and dinner that you can prepare yourself.***

Bathroom, laundry, kitchen and living room facilities are in the main house. If you have a campervan or bus, then we have a second property in South Fremantle where we could accommodate that and where you could fix it up if needed. It is a secure lock up space with access to power and water.

We really enjoy having people to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to our home. If you are active and joyful, you will enjoy your stay with us. If you are interested in staying with us please tell us a little about yourself.

Best wishes, Suzi, Simon & Finn.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use