help exchange   Host 82004
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Durango
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82004
Region: Mountain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 5, 2019

ABOUT THE FARM: My husband and I just bought four acres in the beautiful Animas Valley outside Durango in 2018. The altitude is 6,500ft and the land was previously used for livestock. Our goal is to have a premaculture farm and food forest. We have 3 goats, 3 cats, 9 chickens, bees and a dog. 1 hoop house and one large garden space.
Our main project for 2019 are:
1. Irrigation system
2. Designing the pasture and planting pernenials.
3. Planting a food forest
4. Planting trees
4. Potentail other prjects: pond, expanding garden, building a gazeebo, new chicken coop, art projects, cold frames and more

We plan on growing the following:
Tomatoes, peppers, greens, sqaush, pumpkins, cucmbers, peas, beans, corn, potatoes, onions, garlic and more.


ABOUT THE LOCATION: This is a dream location for outdoor adventures. We have easy access to legendary mountains, rock climbing, rafting, fishing, lakes, mountain biking and more. We are a short walk to the river and a swimming hole. We are 10 miles outside of town and nearby is an amazing lake with stunning views.

ABOUT THE ACCOMODATIONS: We are flexible with accommodations. We have a camper, space for tents, and space to park a van, tiny house or camper. We are open to pets or larger groups it depends on desired accommodations. We have a shared bathroom, kitchen and living area.

ABOUT THE HOSTS: We love doing anything outdoors (camping, backpacking, hiking, rock climbing, paddle boarding etc.). We strive to live a sustainable lifestyle and to be conscious about our waste and habits. We have been working toward a zero waste household for the last few years. (Itís a work in progress.) We enjoy live music, festivals, good beer and we are 420 friendly. We love living in community and are looking for people with similar passions and values. We speak some Spanish and would love to practice and learn more. We welcome everyone.

WHO WE ARE LOOKING FOR: Most important is that you are a good fit. We want this to be an enjoyable experience for everyone. Someone with similar values and hobbies or someone open to our lifestyle is ideal.

Short term: We would like someone for a minimum of 1 week. This volunteer position would include some daily tasks and then working on a special projects.

Wanted skills: Permaculutre,planting, seed gathering, herbalism, building, weeding, art, and curiosity

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use