help exchange   Host 8213
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: NO
Area (ha): 1
Persons: up to 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8213
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 17, 2019


We are Sue and Paul, we live in our French Farmhouse which has been renovated (still the land/barns to do). We are looking for some help between February and June 2019 and prefer a minimum stay of 2 weeks. There is still lots of work to be done.

There are plenty of jobs whatever your skills:

Lots of painting! Windows, doors, shutters, garden furniture, etc.

Large patio to lay, I can lay the paving but some help with moving paving and shovelling sand would be a fantastic help.

The boundary stone wall needs rebuilding

We are trying to increase the size of our kitchen garden and hope to set up some no-dig beds.

Also we have a very old Massey Pony tractor to help with ploughing, so anyone with knowledge/experience of these would be helpful.

We aim to be reasonably self sufficient (organic) within the next 3 years. At the moment we have 2 sheep (hopefully lambs soon), chickens and 2 dogs.

Volunteers may have to share a room but this would depend on how many volunteers we have, the accommodation is very good and the rooms are en-suite. There are two double bedrooms and a twin bedroom

We aren't looking for people to do all the work for us but with so much to do many hands make light work (well lighter anyway!)

You will need to be flexible, hardworking and willing to muck in and help with daily chores if not busy elsewhere. In return you will be welcomed to our home, join us for meals and experience living in a small rural community. We are looking for people to work approximately 25 hours a week and it's up to you how you work these hours. We aren't slave drivers we just need some help. We are willing to be flexible about the work hours and if you would prefer to work more hours one day and none another or start early and finish early. We would also like to feel that people would help out with cooking and household chores for some of the time.

The house is in a small hamlet 4.5km from 2 towns. There are 2 bikes available for use.

If anyone is interested we are about an hour from Limoges airport which is served by Flybe, Ryanair and Air France. We can collect you from the airport or train station in Eymoutiers.
This would be a good opportunity for anyone who wishes to experience rural France, we are on good terms with our French neighbours.

I'm not very good with the selling aspect of this but the food and accomodation would be good so please feel free to ask any questions you may have with no obligation.
Thank you for taking the time to read this listing.

Sue and Paul

reviews (2)
Helper: Eilam and Shachar Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Israel Date: January 26, 2013
We stayed with Paul and the animals for one week. Paul is a very interesting ... view complete review

Helper: Ann and Lucas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: August 8, 2012
Paul & Sue are kind, generous and down to earth hosts and everything they've ... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use