help exchange   Host 82192
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Dawson City
All Year: No
Area (ha): 2.02
Persons: up to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 82192
Region: Yukon

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 14, 2018

We are a married couple in our thirties, we have two young children, a log home, and a small number of out buildings on a 5 acre homestead property 5km outside of Dawson City, Yukon. In the summertime, we keep ducks, plant and keep a greenhouse and an outdoor garden, clear land, cut and stack wood, and each run our own small business in town. Sarah runs a massage therapy clinic and Jesse runs a transportation and tour company. The children will be 1 yr and 3 yrs old in the summer of 2018. Needless to say, we are busy and could use some help!

We are looking for summer help - specifically with planting and maintaining the greenhouse and garden, landscaping and property maintenance, and feeding and watering the ducks and possibly other animals. We would also be interested in help with finishing some of the out buildings and some light carpentry, and would also be open to the idea of some childcare help too after getting to know our helper. We'd be happy to host from about May 25 - September 15 2018.

In exchange for your help we can offer modest accommodations, either in a canvas wall tent or an old bus converted into living quarters. Accommodations have a propane stove and small oven, are furnished, and have access to an outhouse. Our helper would be without running water, but we can provide regular clean water delivery for drinking and washing. The accommodations are also without electricity, but the good news is it doesn't get dark in the Yukon in the summertime, so no need for lights! We're also happy to share a couple meals per week with our helper, and can provide some transportation help when needed, but our helper should know that we live 5 km uphill from Dawson City. We aren't able to provide regular transportation to and from Dawson, so our helper should be comfortable walking, riding a bike, or hitching rides with neighbours and friends.

As for Dawson City itself, it's a wonderful place to spend a summer! Dawson is a place for artists, musicians, outdoor enthusiasts, canoers, hikers, mountain bikers, and community minded folks. We have a local volunteer-run radio station, an art gallery, restaurants, shops, bars, summer festivals, a vibrant First Nation, and even gold miners! We're a short drive to Tombstone Territorial Park where a person can enjoy multi-day backcountry hiking and camping, or simply head out for the day. We're also in close proximity to a number of good canoe trip routes, fishing spots, and day-hike opportunities.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use