help exchange   Host 82394
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Graig-na-Managh
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 15
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82394
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 25, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to read my profile and my request for help with the wonderful project here. I am very fortunate to live in a beautiful house in the south east of Ireland in county Kilkenny about 140 kilometers from Dublin and 3 kilometers from the small town of Graig-na-Managh, Co Kilkenny which has daily buses to Kilkenny city. I live on a natural 15 hectares (35 acres) which include a magical 7 hectares (20 acres) of native woodland with pathways and a waterfall. I am involved in several different projects and am looking forward to welcoming you to my home and getting some help around here. I am hoping to develop a social enterprise around a sustainable community based on the land here - see our facebook link above for more details.

I am seeking some help from around March 2019 through to September. I will make the work varied and interesting for you.

Firstly, you would live in a spare room in my house and share the rest of the house. I would provide home cooked meals and comfortable surroundings. You would be expected to work 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. Ideally, I am looking for someone who has general building and/or gardening experience.

What I need help with most is around the house with painting, carpentry and general DIY. I will need help with the garden for vegetable growing; and I need to tidy up the areas around the houses which has become over grown. During the summer I plan to make another little footpath through the woods connecting the two pathways that are already there.The new path will allow walkers to do a loop walk within the woodland.

Also, I run an Airbnb from another building here which is a 2 bed house in a converted barn. I would want some occasional help with preparing this for when guests arrive.

I will also need help with preparing another small 1 bedroom house for Airbnb and this would involve basic building work and painting. I have quite a few building skills so I just need support on this work but some building/handyman experience would be very useful.

I would hope that the work would be varied and interesting for you and you would not be doing the same work all the time.

The rest of the time you would be free to explore the magical fairy woodland here and loads of lovely places locally. The small town of Graig-na-Managh is on a river which is open all the way to Dublin so there are many river boat houses and a tow path for walking on.There are shops, library, community activities and lively bars to explore.

I have availability to accommodate a couple of people at any time as I have only one room available with a double bed.

I work from home on Education for Sustainability mainly on-line. I am keen on making things and DIY in my spare time. I have plenty of social connections locally and there is a lot of interesting activity going on so you will have plenty to do in your time off.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use