help exchange   Host 82396
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cottage Grove
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 17
Persons: 2 max
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82396
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 18, 2018

Dear fellow adventurers and nature lovers out there,

Connor and myself have been helpers ourselves off and on for the last 8 years while traveling this vast world..

Time for us to be hosts now!

We currently live at the end of a dead end road in the woods in Oregon, on a friends property.
We are eventually trying to buy our own with a group of friends and are in the beginning stages of creating this dream.
So in the meantime we've put up a yurt on an empty parcel of friends property and are part of a larger community here.

Cottage Grove greater area has lots to offer.
Beautiful quirky little town with a great local community, farmers market, local shops and pubs with live music and covered bridges.
There's an awesome biking trail and mountbiking trails in the area.
We are very lucky to live where things are still wild and green.
things to do and see in your spare time:
Umpqua forest (waterfalls and hikes)
brice creek (swimming holes)
Cottage Grove is a cute town, Eugene is an awesome city to visit!
we have hiking trails in our back yard but there's plenty around.
it takes about an 1hour30min to get to the wild oregon coast from our place thus good for a weekend trip or day trip

our place is located 30 minutes south of Eugene, 5-10 minutes west of Cottage Grove (by car)

Coming by car is recommended (public transport is not available)
If you do not have a car we can talk about it, but keep in mind you will not be able to come and go as you please, there will be lots of coordinating involved. Hitchhiking has been successfully done by friends.

We are setup to accommodate 1 person.
Couples depending on the work available can contact us too.

We live a quiet homestead life, surrounded by beautiful forest, wildlife and happy friends.
We are neighbors of Aprovecho sustainable education and research center (look it up)
where they run natural building and permaculture courses and countless diverse workshops
When you are with us, you will be getting to know them too as we are closely connected and help out there in various ways.

We work hard but also play hard.
We get stuff done but also play hooky often
if it's too hot, we're going swimming in the river! When there's something going on at the neighbors or in town we'll go!
We love taking off on little camping trips!

Connor and I are both volunteer coordinators for various programs and educators in natural building and permaculture.

When you come for a work-stay with us this is what you can expect:
- homesteading experience: gardening, cooking, harvesting, preserving, taking care of animals, fixing and building projects
- volunteering for Aprovecho
- helping on permaculture and natural building projects: cob, strawbale, light clay slip, plaster, earthen floor,...
- volunteering with Connor who is a natural builder and carpenter, currently he is working for Square One Villages (look it up), a co-housing tiny home project in Eugene.
- bigger projects like building a greenhouse
- taking our dog Billie for long walks in the woods :)

there'll be more specific details to come when projects get started
we have lots of like minded friends who have properties close by who also have ongoing projects so if you have any interest in joining them and getting to know them while you are here we would love that.

Connor and Tine are respectively 31 and 35 years old.
Connor is an American and Irish citizen.
Tine is Belgian and a permanent resident of the USA.
Our household is english speaking, but Tine's first language is Flemish - Dutch and she can speak french as well.
Immediate neighbors are about the same age as us. We welcome any age and are keen on sharing our lifestyle and experiences.
If you learn something new while you're here and we learn something new from you, we will consider your stay a success!


We live in a yurt, you will be camping unless there is something else available
bringing your own tent is required
we have a beautiful platform on our land available for this purpose
it's all kind of back to basics for now
but there's a shower if you need it at the neighbors, compost toilet outside..
It is not guaranteed your provider will have reception on our property. (verizon does for sure) We cant guarantee an internet connection.
Our life is outdoors so if you are a someone who likes to watch netflix inside this is not your place, just saying.

we will have all of our meals together
Tine is a great cook and also a holistic nutritionist by trade so we welcome any dietary restrictions. Please mention this in your request.
We ourselves are omnivores but mainly eat organic, lots of fresh produce from the garden.
We don't drink coffee (bring your own)

We can only commit to one week at first as a trial period, if you wish to stay longer and everything seems to go well, we will welcome you to stay longer... people have been known to stick around for a while ;)
If during the first week trail period we decide things will not work out we reserve the right to ask you to leave during that first week.

Best time of the year is to come from May-October (camping will be pleasant then)
If you have a vehicle to live out of then you are welcome all year around. The climate is mild but you can expect freezing temperatures occasionally. Also very wet in winter and very dry in summer. Bring according gear (rubber boots, rain jacket, woolen clothing and your swim suit in summer)
With bigger projects at certain times of the year other accomodations can be arranged please check in with us about that.

We can offer different kinds of worktrading arrangements
it would be best to discuss this before hand.
But there is room for changing it if necessary once you've decided to stay on after week 1
1- full time 5 days a week 2 days off if you're all in and interested in working alongside us we can do 35 hours a week for full room and board (3 meals a day) during your days off if you choose to stick around there will be some food available to you but we suggest taking off and seeing beautiful Oregon
2- if you are more interested in a lot of free time to roam we can do 20 hours and 1 meal (evening meal) a day and occasional snacks so you'll be on your own for breakfast and lunch and during your days off.

an actual schedule will become more clear during your stay as we figure out which projects we will be working on
and if you have an interest to go volunteer with Connor at the build site yes or no.
If you want to learn everything about building tiny homes this is the place to be.

We are open-minded and welcome people from all walks of life, welcome diversity and above all appreciate a peaceful and positive exchange.
We practice non-violent communication and make decisions by consensus.
We will have an occasional alcoholic drink and cannabis is legal in Oregon state (with restrictions)
We do not allow any other drug use on our property.

If you have any special needs, dietary, allergies, medical issues, physical and mental extra needs, taking medication and so on... please be clear about this in your request,
so we can determine if our place is the right one for you.

Dogs are welcome if they are well trained and friendly with kids, cats and other dogs.

Now that all of the details are out of the way... please feel free to contact us with any questions!
We would love to hear from you.

Love,
Tine, Connor & Billie





Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use