help exchange   Host 82498
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mulmur/Honeywood
All Year: March - November
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82498
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2020

Currently still needing helpers for April, June, August, September, October and November 2020. Also specifically for the first week in June. Though priority is given to those looking for 4 weeks or more, it doesnt need to start at the beginning or end at the end of the month. You're always welcome to send us a message and we'll see what we can make work :)

(With the current state of affairs, we are still accepting Helpxers but our focus has shifted to preparing our farm for greater self sufficiency so if you want to come here, please be prepared for a lot more gardening, planting, weeding and preserving than usual)

Hello Helpxers! Let us introduce ourselves. My name is Carola and I live with my husband Jeremy, our 6 year old son Henry and my mom Heike on a 50 acre farm in the Hills of Mulmur here in Ontario. We have a small hobby farm. From the spring to the fall we have 40 chickens, 25 turkeys and 6 ducks.
My husband is a mechanic and works in the nearby town of Shelburne. I work from home and have a pet sitting/dog hotel business. My business is well known, well respected in the industry, where we keep up to 10 dogs with no cages or crates, though in a separate part of the house. I can perhaps teach you about dogs and their behaviours if this is of interest for you. We live in a very rural area so there is no public transportation but its only 12 minutes to the nearest town with stores (Shelburne – population 8000) We have a bicycle if you'd like to cycle to places near by and we're usually in town 4-5 times a week anyway.
We are not vegetarians but our food is sourced, for the most part, from local farms, and you are welcome to cook for yourself if you don't wish to eat with us. I am fluent in German as well as English. Once a week we usually travel to Orangeville, a larger town to the south, with train and bus connections.
We are looking for someone (or a couple) to work along side us on the farm: creating vegetable and flower gardens, weeding, grass cutting and other odd jobs. Typical work would be sweeping the floors, feeding the dogs, tending the birds, being here to meet a client or keep Henry company if I need to go do a dog walk or meet a customer. Some of the stuff is just simple every day stuff and sometimes there are more off the wall jobs like helping me clip the turkey's flight feathers or helping to paint the chicken coop. We're hoping to enlarge the chicken coop and turkey enclosures this year so either having experience or a willingness to learn is a plus. Other possible 2020 projects include the building of a log cabin for Jeremys forge, tiling the kitchen floor and finishing some woodwork in the house - we'll just have to see what time will allow. Or if you knew how to use a chainsaw to help with the firewood, that would also be a benefit. Really we structure the work around your abilities and comfort level. Ideally my family would like to take a few weekends this summer to go camping, providing you would be comfortable and willing to watch the dogs while we are away. We are looking for people from late March – late November 2020. October will mostly be construction work, costume work, makeups and prop placement as we build and host a large haunted house in the local town for Halloween.
We have a zero tolerance policy in regards to drugs and this is a non smoking household (though you are welcome to smoke outside) No problem if you enjoy a glass of wine with dinner or a cold beer after a hot summers day, while we sit by the bonfire. We're easy going people who tend to assume the best of everyone so basically if you treat us with respect, we will treat you with respect. I strongly believe that the energy and good vibes you send out into this world, come back to you tenfold - and I work very hard to surround ourselves with only happy, positive people who are out in this world exploring it and living their best life. Our corner of the world is great for healing, talking, sharing and laughing.
Whats in it for you? We have a bedroom with a double bed on the ground floor, with its own tv and a 3 piece bathroom. We have satellite tv, WIFI and great cell reception. The kitchen is always full and we have a large library of books (both english and german) I grew up on the neighbouring cattle ranch where we often hosted international workers so I’m very familiar with how this works. I would be very happy to pick you up/drop you off at the airport in Toronto, if you have not arranged your own transportation. I would be happy to take you on our off days to all the places you are interested in seeing – CN Tower, Niagara Falls, Wasaga Beach (only 30 minutes away) – or whatever is of interest. Ontario is a beautiful place and filled with amazing people. If you come here, you are welcomed as a part of the family. For Easter, you would help decorate the eggs, share in our family brunch and join in the egg hunt afterward. Birthdays are an event, as is our big Thanksgiving dinner in October when we have 20+ people around our table. We are hard working, self starting people and would love to share our home with someone who is the same and is ready to learn and with a great attitude in life. We would be most interested in people willing to stay for at least 4 weeks or more. Especially June-July-August as those are quite busy months and more hands make for lighter loads.
Our home is in the Niagara Escarpment, a World Biosphere Reserve. We are surrounded by forests, cattle and potato farms. The Bruce Trail (Canadas oldest and longest foot path) crosses our property on the back ridge and is a great way to discover a bit of Ontarios wilderness. You’ll hear the coyotes howling at night as we sit around the fire in the backyard. A true taste of Canada.

Photos: Our livingroom where we sit in the evenings, your room, Henry helping with the ducks, the house and the view from the back ridge.

I highly suggest checking out our Facebook page at Windy Ridge Farm to see more photos and descriptions. It gives more of an idea of the day to day, has tons of pictures and one album even has links in the comments to many local Ontario attractions to check out. I've put a link in the form.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Comment from former visitor (not through helpx)

"Ich reiste in meinem Leben bereits mehrfach nach Canada. Jedes Mal lebte ich bei Carola und Jeremy. Die Familie is grossartig. Man wird mit offenen Armen empfangen und sie geben sich grosse Muehe, dass es einem gut geht und man viel nom Land sieht. Das Haus, in dem man lebt, ist gemuetlich, und komfortabel. Ich komme bald wieder und freue mich auf euch und das Land!" -Anne

reviews (6)
Helper: Alica and Philipp Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 6, 2019
We stayed for 2 months at Carola & Jeremy's Farm and loved it there. They are... view complete review

Helper: Sarah and Marc Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 25, 2019
Dear Little Family, thank you so much for having us. We have had a wonderful... view complete review

Helper: Heidi Schielke Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 28, 2019
The Littles were my first host-family in Canada and it surprised me very much... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Andrii and Jade Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ukraine Date: June 13, 2019
Previously to meeting we arranged to stay with the Little’s for 4 months; the... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Rachel Weller Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: February 17, 2019
I never planned to come to Ontario originally but I'm so glad I did! This bea... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Uta and Lukas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 13, 2018
Lukas and I stayed at Carolas for one month.(8.oct-9.nov) It was a great time... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use