help exchange   Host 82808
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Coyhaique
All Year: No, but maybe later.
Area (ha): 12 + semi use of 3 to 30
Persons: 3,5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82808
Country: Chile

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 1, 2019

Hi Everybody :)

Reach out at: gregorhoukes@hotmail.com
We are European/Dutch people that see themselves as communal minded people, starting an idea one of us has had for decades. We are 32 and 36 years old. We have a 2 year old baby boy. My dream is to practice communal living combined with offering travelers and members a space for being and a peaceful natural environment to allow them to deprogram themselves to some degree. A real holiday feel, a retreat. My vision behind this is that the social and mental noise from many places in the world is not making people happy, healthy or productive in their lives. I seek to empower people not just by making an alternative for them by turning them into a worker, but looking at them honestly, holistically, energetically and giving them a chance to exercise the whole of the human experience. Or at least, calm the mind enough so that that person can do that for themselves.

Some people will fail at this or can only have some forms of growth at the expense of others. So over time, when you try something genuine, there will always be people lashing out against it after feelings of resentment :) We will not try to avoid these conflicts as they are part of a personal growth process.

Flora saved up money by doing scientific research while Greg assisted her career and lived a minimalist life-style. Allowing us to travel the world, deprogram ourselves and buy land for people to come live on for free in exchange for very little work. We want to emphasize the importance of finding a good energy together first to work from. Meaning, the 2 of us will not seek to take the position of a leader-role, just a guide to show the place around and give further explanations on what we feel. I expect people that have a natural response to us or have a gift of their own, to find their way automatically to what type of attitude and work or activity they want to be doing. We rather not be too slow in this spiritual progress, as Flora needs workers, where Greg is more happy with having light workers. No pressure to perform either way, just honesty. So try and be up front about your intentions.

Next to start-up and pre-farm work, we can offer you all kinds of outdoor spots to come and take a quiet retreat. We offer people a place in the nature and/or our home when it is finished. You will be free to use the many dead trees around to build your own small cabin or shelter. There are lots of big square rocks and we found some clay deposits a few miles out. We have just a few tools. There will be places for tents and tarps available and you can expect a limited set of visitors from various backgrounds. You can share your story with them one on one or as a group and expect reflections and responsible reactions.

We like to give neutral sharing places, a fire place and share life in general in the way that makes your gifts and talents shine and make others happy. No need to rush things with hugs or learned/copyied behaviors. The only scenario is that many practical things will be communal, but you can find privacy in the surrounding natural and rural areas where there is a very low population density.

Because we are new in Chile, you can also come share your gardening, building, maintaining, wild food gathering and permaculture skills with us and show us how a proper community is made! We can consider you for living with us permanently, be it all year round or every year for 3 or more months (your choice). Summers are great here, the place needs a lot of start up work to really be called a farm, but in our hearts it already is a communal farm. We take it step by step and are not into developing a commercial business out of it. CURRENTLY: The land is totally wild and too little work has been done by the 2 men involved! We need to gather natural building materials, plan and build several small structures and talk with each other how and where the first gardens/green houses can be made. As you are feeling hopefully by now, we would love to make new friends and embrace you as an equal, while we work on these structures and ideas gradually.

The 2, 3, 4 of us are all spiritually gifted and this has given us some friction over the years with people who have really invested themselves in the non-authentic self that most of the city life offers them. Unnatural things that seem to us, designed to limit the deeper human experience by taking themselves too seriously as an ego, spirit and not enough as a free soul/natural person (again, based from our points of view). Recently though, it has become more important for Flora to submit to this world as she is considering hiring workers due to lack of responses and her own problems of the mind.

In order to offer a genuine invitation for people with good vibes AND to prevent us from having too much friction with other vibes... We want to step towards clarity about our shared human reality in how to deal with us. Making sure we understand each others preferences is important. The more outspoken and up front people can be with us, the better we feel. Deeper perceptions about the differences between `vibes` are for us a necessary and almost daily routine. We will over time pose some scenarios to you and see how you feel about it, so we can get a sense of our being in comparison with your being. We ask for your understanding, responsibility and patience in these matters as these scenarios have taken 22 years in our hearts and minds to develop. We are calm enough now to let them come up and for us to be out spoken enough to allow people to choose their own experiences.

Greetings and Love,


Flora and Greg




PS: The type of help we require and number of hours expected for work: Is 2 to 4 depending on the difficulty/heavy lifting.
Rules about phone use: There is no power and no cellular reception available, so, that would be limited.
Whether smoking is permitted: Limited, prefer to be kept away from us and the children and no 420.
The type of food/meals provided and whether we can cater to vegetarians or not: Chilean shops are primitive, not so much choice, though the answer (over time) is yes. Most certainly when we get our greenhouses up and running.
Are children or pets allowed? Depends on their needs and behavior, yes!
Distance to local shop and internet: We have a car (1 to 2 hour travel time at the minimum).
Directions and methods of transport available to travel to your location: Same answer, you can try to get (bus) rides all the way from Santiago or hitch-hike. In town I can pick you up by car or you can arrange a lift from a farmer in town.
Places of local interest that helpers may wish to visit during their free time: Patagonia wilderness in every direction.

Over time more resources will become available. Any important info we will add to this text when similar questions come up. Limited internet speed and locations, so do not expect direct and fast responses at times. Imagine an almost untouched valley with lots of nature and small trails. The property is limited in size, about 3.5 and 8 hectares, though a big land strip close to the rivers and lake are open to the (limited) public for camping etc. It is legal in Chile to camp for free there. If you can put our information on a flyer and hang it up in alternative areas for free thinkers and artist to see, that would be great. We hope to attract the right types of guests to make the place shine with depth and soul. In the future we are planning to build a castle and play around it with multiple big happy families :) Come discover our ideas and your possibilities there! Thanks for reading, we hope you enjoy the dream.


CURRENT ACTIVITIES:

Planning to return late January/February 2020.
Fishing (legal from November onward).
Spending calm private time alone to feel the forest and adapt to nature.
Finishing our first simple shelter-house.
Having ideas where to expand first.
Making wood & other vegetation piles.
Local area clearing and placing sails.
Clearing dead wood, stones and organic matter.
Repairing the dirt road.
Leveling surfaces with gravel.

There is a much longer list of everything we could be doing. But this is best told when people are making serious plans to visit.

Thanks again for reading and understanding.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use