help exchange   Host 82929
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hidden Valley Lake
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2 hectares
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 82929
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 3, 2018

We're a well-traveled couple, and as an exchange student and professional, I've lived/worked in Europe, Asia and North America before finally settling in a sleepy, rural community just north of Napa County, CA. We enjoy meeting and welcoming people from all over the world who are willing to learn about each other with a congenial, compassionate attitude.

Our community suffered a tragic wildfire in 2015, destroying 1,300 homes including ours. However, we have rebuilt and moved into our new home on the same 5-acre property. We're conscientious about maintaining a fire-safe zone, and thus need help all throughout the year to keep down the weeds and shrubs in this effort. We also volunteer to help neighbors, so it would be great to have someone willing to do the same.

Our place is ideal for someone who wants to get away from the rat race, who doesn't mind being inconvenienced by limited public transportation, and desires a quiet, serene place to practice mindful living through work and meditation.

From May to October, our area is hot and dusty. We have cats, dogs and chickens, pigs and sheep. The pigs and sheep help control the weeds. So please keep this in mind if you have any allergies.

We need strong, able bodies who can handle weedeating (if you're not familiar with the term, please google the tool - it's what people use instead of lawn mowers to cut grass in rocky areas) and general landscaping work around the property. Livestock poop cleanup is also important. If you're visiting in the hot months (generally from May-October), this means getting up very early so that work is finished by noon or even before noon. Thereafter, you have the rest of the day free :)

My special project in 2019 is to build a meditation maze, requiring removing/digging out, lifting and placing rocks. I have a backhoe and good tools to minimize heavy manual work.

In exchange, we can help you improve your English (I was formerly an English language instructor) as well as German (my second language). You'll share delicious meals with us, and we welcome you to participate in meal prep and maybe learn new recipes. But if you're vegetarian, you may not agree with our diet as it often consists of meat, and we don't have time to cook special meals for people with special diets.

We value serenity, healthy living and are a drug-, smoke-, marijuana- and drama-free household.

English, German and French spoken here.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use