help exchange   Host 83060
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Wilberforce
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 200
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 83060
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 16, 2020

Most of the farm is currently leased to provide time to landscape and establish a garden and renovate the historic homestead. There are thirty five breeding sheep and three alpacas that need daily tending. I also help my brother who lives close by and has about 300 hectares and we have hundreds of sheep there.
Apart from care of the animals I need help with the vegetable garden, general tidying around the garden and sheds, and maintenance of the historic shearing shed and sheep yards. There is some indoor and out door painting available and the need to drive the ute over the whole farm and pick up old fencing wire, rocks and any debris that has accumulated over time. Of course there are always fences to fix.

I am elderly but relatively fit and young at heart and work hard. I just love it here.

The property is between Northam (a regional centre) and York, a historic small rural town both about 15 minutes away by car. It is an hour from Perth airport. There is mobile phone cover. There is no public transport direct to the house but there are trains and buses to and from Perth to Northam and buses to York, both from where I would be happy to collect helpers. I have bikes available to you. It is a very historic area and great for bush walking and bird watching, spring wild flowers and vernacular architecture. There is a bird hide in the garden.

Your accommodation is seperate to but close to the main house and is fully renovated, private and selfcontained.

It would be good to have especially a strong man or a happy couple to help me approximately 4 hours a day, or a full day alternate days in exchange for accommodation and all food and clothes washing etc. You can come for a few days or a week or so. Building and gardening skills would be wonderful but just common sense and enthusiasm would be great and having a driving licence would he helpful for all of us. There is such a variety of jobs to do, that I am sure we can find things to suit most helpers. It must be fun and that we see things for our efforts.

I speak a very small amount of French and would be happy to help with the learning of English.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use