help exchange   Host 83230
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


County Monaghan
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83230
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 19, 2019

I run a small part-time thoroughbred breeding concern in Co. Monaghan. I currently have 3 mares and 1 2year-old.

The day starts off with an early morning feed and some training with the 2 year-old which takes about 45 minutes. The horses are then turned out for the day and the next horse job is a feed in the middle of the day followed by another at 9pm before the horses are turned out again for the night. Ocassionally if a horse is sick or has an injury it may be confined to it's stable so some mucking-out is required. From November to March the horses are stabled at night so mucking-out duties are required during this period.

I also have a few sheep and 2 cats.

If you are willing to help you will need to be very experienced around horses as the horses are racehorses and they can be unpredictable and are very powerful. In return the horses give you lots of pleasure. I also travel the horses to Stud farms and Racecourses during the year so if you're happy to come along you will get a chance to see some very interesting places. I cannot however offer you horse riding on the farm as I don't ride the horses. I practice Natural Horsemanship methods.

The farm is about 4.5 miles from the town of Carrickmacross which has a great bus service to Dublin. Whatever places you'd like to visit I will help you get there and any hobbies or pastimes you enjoy I will encourage.

At the moment I require somebody to help out with light duties around the farm. You will need to be reasonably fit to help out. A mature person who doesn't mind quiet and solitude may well be best suited as you may have to spend daytimes alone with just the animals. It would also be useful if you could do a bit of cooking and cleaning around the house. Unfortunately I canít accomodate smokers.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use