help exchange   Host 83261
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Alora (Malaga)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 2 (caravan)
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83261
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 9, 2019

UPDATE: First upcoming volunteer period August
BE AWARE: The work we do can be really hard (specially in the summer months!) so please only apply when you are fit, healthy and you feel up for it.

OUR SITUATION:
End 2013 my husband Brent and I (Vicky) started a landscaping development project based on the principles of permaculture. in the mountains of Alora, a town in the province of Malaga (Southern Spain). Here old and new insights are combined to establish a small scale mixed organic farm the natural way.

In the last couple of years we have been renovating one part of a ruin into our home (bedroom, bathroom and living room). Now we are up for the task of renovating the rest of the ruin and making some extensions (second bedroom, kitchen, shower, pergolas and glass house).
We have also been developing the land. We made a vegetable garden (mandala), some main crops terraces and the start of a food forest. We also have (had) chickens, ducks and pigs.

We love to learn by doing everything ourselves but we have come to realise, now that we have a son, that it would be really nice to speed things up. And for that we are looking for people who would like to learn about what we do to help us.

PERFECT VOLUNTEERS:
Looking for social, respectful, hardworking people with love for nature in all her forms.
Are you interested in Permaculture, organic farming, animals, building and/or being a nanny and helping with household tasks PLEASE contact us to find out if you and our farm would be a perfect helper-host match!

WE OFFER:
A place to enjoy your stay in a calm and respectful atmosphere.
Helping hours will be an average of 5 hours a day (2 days off).
Accomodation will be a caravan with a double bed (for couple or two guys who not mind sharing). Putting up a tent is possible in the right months when more helpers than two are travelling together or two prefer not to share the caravan. Caravan has cooker, fridge and toilet. Internet is also available. Shower is in the family bathroom but is easy accesible as it is situated just behind the caravan site.
Meals will be provided three times a day with the family or if you prefer you can cook your own meals for more privacy or own prefered style. We are not vegetarian/vegan/etc. So meals also include fish or meat.
We offer a variaty of work to meet our needs AND yours. Besides the work we can also teach you some skills when interested like making bread, goat cheese, preserves, natural soaps, etc. Or if more interested wooden products to learn about carpentry.

WORK:
Daily work like feeding the animals, collecting eggs, tending vegetable garden and plant nursery, household, etc.
Seasonal work like harvesting produce, preserving produce, pruning, strimming, sowing/planting vegetable garden, planting new plants/trees, slaughtering, etc.
Planned work like renovations on the ruin, extensions, putting up fences, making ponds, etc.
Free to choose from like making stone walls, sanding and painting (maintenance) or any small individual projects we can think of together to meet your interests.

OUR FAMILY:
Be aware that our family consists of Brent, Max and myself. But also of three dogs (Luna, Bobby and Floss) and two cats (Nala and Lucifer), in case you are allergic or are not a fan.

Brent (born The Netherlands 07/12/78) is an all day smiling hard working optimist. He is convinced that a positive attitude helps you to invite the good in your live and to ward off the bad. In everything he does, he follows his heart.
Before going to university he worked in a nursery. There he laid the foundation for his knowledge about plants. He studied landscape architecture where he later specialized in landscape design. After his studies, he and a partner started their own business in spatial design, where they made designs for furniture, interiours, stands and of course gardens. For this he has been lucky to travel around the world and learn about different cultures.
He discovered permaculture when looking into sustainability and he was convinced it could work. Now working at La Buena Vida he’s excited to put the theory into practice to let people get acquainted with permaculture and what nature has to offer.

Vicky is a born Malagueña (Málaga 17/05/77) with a great love for everything that lives, flaming Spanish temper and passion to get things right. The past 22 years she lived in the Netherlands, but Spain always had a great attraction. When her opportunity came to combine several dreams; her own farm, living amongst animals and nature, enjoy the Spanish climate and way of live more, she jumped into it. But not without thinking, she may seem enthusiastic but she’ll always think her steps through. Thanks to her abilities to research, analyze and plan, Cortijo La Buena Vida is a fact and things are going.
After her study of landscape architecture and holistic animal health & management, permaculture seemed a logical guide to setup a mixed farm. Since then everyday she discovers more ways to combine ambitions, gut feeling and natural flow.

Max (born Malaga 05/09/17) is our new addition in the family. He is a sweet stubborn little boy who likes to smile and giggle a lot. He seems to like cars, technology, our dogs and nature.

LOCATION:
We live in the mountains of Alora, a town in the province of Malaga (southern Spain). We are located 5 minutes from Ermita de las tres cruces (see My Map).
It's very quite and peaceful. Love of nature is therefor a must.

LEISURE:
For days off there are plenty places to see and/or things to do. Malaga is a 45 minutes drive by car, while the two neighbouring towns Alora and Estacion de Cartama are a 15-20 minutes away, partially dirt roads. They both have nice bars, restaurants, supermarkets, stores, banks and so much more to offer. They both also have train and bus stations that connect you to Malaga city, the airport, the coast and many more beautiful places.

PHOTOS:
1. Us
2. Raised vegetable garden ready for planting
3. Planting seedlings in the terraces
4. Our Plymouth Rock flock & Khaki Campbell ducklings in the back
5. Our piglets (+)
6. Our place by night

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use