help exchange   Host 83280
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Scicli
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3 hectares
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83280
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 24, 2019

Hello, I'm Anna, aged 58 and live with my dogs in a beautiful countryside near the baroque Unesco cities Modica Scicli and Ragusa. In my land there are old carob olive and almond trees, plus hundreds of young fruit trees, figs, apricot, vines, etc and aromatic herbs lavender rosemary thyme, oregano. My place is called La Bellaria, that means The Good Air, because even in the hottest days there is a fresh wind from the sea. My project is to rise an edibile forest. I also grow a synergic vegetable garden. I am studying permaculture, organic regenerative agriculture, dryland agricolture. My long term aim is self sufficiency, at the moment I try to keep my ecological foorprint light, by re using, recycling, not wasting. I have restored a couple of rooms for a Bed and Breakfast, to help financing the project.
You could help me in many ways: weeding, pruning, mulching. Planting new plants and herbs. Repairing drystone walls, collecting wood for the stove. Harvesting olives, carrobs, wild plants like capers,, safran, berries. I would love someone with maintenance experience, like plumbing and building. If you like carpentry, we could build a gazebo and table in the yard, for our lazy times. Anyway are plenty of shadowy places for the long summer afternoons. We also need a new compost toilet, and a tools shed. The old stone house also need some maintenance work. I am a good vegetarian cook, so dont worry about food, even my meat-eaters friends enjoy my cooking:) I will be glad to teach you typical sicilian recipes, and to learn those of your country. You would be accommodated in a nice caravan near the house, or in a tent, if you prefer. Be prepared to use a compost toilet. You will also be asked to save water, and re-use it for plants after washing yourself. For this reason I use only natural homemade soap, that you can buy here if you do not have. Saving water means not being hyper hygienist ;) no unnecessary washing and showers.
According to the season, we will work outside about 5 hours a day, for 5 or 6 days a week, usually in the morning. Then we share household duties, cooking, washing up, etc. And now, comes the good part: you will be staying in one of the most beautiful corners of Sicily. Long sandy beaches, with shallow clear waters, rivers and ponds hidden at the bottom of amazing canyons of white stone, with caves that were inhabited until a few di decades ago. Baroque villages and cities, natural reserves, good food, wine....and much more, all within 5 to 30 minutes drive.
You will have to organize yourself to explore the area. I will be glad to drive you to next villages Scicli or Modica.
I am part of a group of people that gathers every second week for a mutual help in the farms. These meetings are very important because we are experiencing a way to help each other grow our projects, and to build strong community relationships. Moreover, we have a lot of fun and music and fantastic food. You will love our MAI (mutual aid ibleo)!
You can get here from the main cities by bus, the stop is in Modica, then I pick you up. The closest airport is Comiso, or Catania. The next village from home is 4 km, if you need shops, bars, internet access. Bring with you good walking shoes, a hat, gloves, sunscreen.
Please feel free to ask anything you need to know before coming here. I am looking forward to meeting you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use