help exchange   Host 83299
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Point Reyes Station
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83299
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 10, 2019

(Peter parle Francais, spricht Deutsch, habla Espanol, parla un po d'Italiano)

Our 1910 farmhouse is on a creek on 2.9 acres surrounded on three sides by marsh and wetlands belonging to the Point Reyes National Seashore. Yet across the street we have a sweet neighborhood and a small store with a great deli. Ocean beaches are a 15-minute drive. We can also hike from our house straight up onto the ridge of the National Seashore. 1.3 miles away is the town of Point Reyes Station, which has most of the necessities: bank, more groceries, drugstore, hardware store, bakery, library very active community center with many world-class performers etc. The Point Reyes area is also the capitol of the "locavore movement" of Northern California, and home to various artisanal businesses- bakeries, cheesemakers, vineyards, meaderies, organic dairies, farms. We are also an hour's drive from Berkeley or San Francisco, so ours is a beautiful, peaceful location from which to explore the cities of the Bay Area, as well as wine country, etc. The Sierra Nevada Mountains are roughly four hours away.

You do pretty much need your own transportation while staying with us, if you want to take full advantage of the location, or to move around freely. We do have bicycles we can loan, and are happy to give rides when that works out, but it is far less stressful for all concerned if you are independently mobile.

We are not a farm; we do have a small vegetable garden- organic but not certified- and are managing and gradually developing the rest of the property- which includes open fields and willows and alders. The house is mostly fixed up, but we are about to restore the rear deck, finish the second full bath, etc. Depending on your interests and skills, you might help us with building and other handy-man sort of projects, or in taking care of the property.

Our favorite arrangement is to put up couples or groups of friends who live in our spacious 36-long r.v., but who can hang out with us in our living room, use our bathroom and half bath and internet, and share meals with us. That way you have your own company built in, and your own private quarters, whenever you or we want some space and time to ourselves. This has worked well for long-term stays. At some times we are happy to have helpers sleeping in our large house as well, though this would be for shorter periods, not months at a time. We have a big property, so another option is for helpers to stay on the land in their own r.v.

We typically like to start a new helpx-type relationship with a week's trial stay. After we establish that we are all a good match, we have no set limit to length of stay. The longer the better if it is working well.

We buy the food, including whatever it is you prefer to have in the house, and we and you alternate cooking for each other- or sometimes choose to eat separately some of the time. We would not want to live with folks who do not want to cook and eat together. Our habitual diet is mostly vegetable-based; we are omnivores gradually reducing our consumption of meat and dairy. Meat, when we have it, is usually chicken or fish, though we are willing also to include some other meat for those who prefer it.

Typically 25 hours of work expected per week per person. When exactly you put in the work would be by mutual agreement, and largely at your convenience- it does not need to be every week-day, and on some things we may prefer to work with you on the weekends.

A little about us: We are a long-married couple in our 60s (seen with some of our helpers in one of the attached photos.) Our kids are grown and out of the house, though our 27-year-old daughter is a frequent weekend visitor. Peter works quite often in Berkeley, where we have a boat that you might sometimes be able to stay on when you want a night in the city. Laura is an architect who works from home but usually has meetings once or twice a week in Berkeley. We have owned this home for twenty-five years, and are currently getting it into shape so that we can sometimes rent it out to vacationers so as to finance our own travels.

Send us a message with your phone # and email address, and we will call you if we think we might be a good match. In any case we will let you know through the website if we cannot offer you a place at the moment.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use