help exchange   Host 8338
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Infiesto (4km), ASTURIAS
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2,8
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8338
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 1, 2020

In the post-corona period, we may want to receive new helpers, but everything depends on if we will get any income this year. We will not feed an other stomach if we cannot feed ourselves. But please contact us to check the possibilities.

In Fontebona we try to live as natural and self-sufficiently as possible. We are an eco-finca for nature lovers and tranquility seekers. Guests can accompany us in our daily and special activities, and learn about a basic living by doing so. It is a beautiful place. It's just that our mini natural paradise still needs quite some fine-tuning. That's where you come in.

Who are we looking for?

The helpers (max. 2) we are looking for like to live a basic life, and enjoy being outside. Enjoyed nature as a child already? Then you will find the place wonderful. There is some clothing for you but not in all sizes, so please bring your own working clothes, shoes and rainwear. We ask you to help us 25 hours a week.

We have helpers since 2010. In 2020 we really need someone who can take the lead in our veggie garden or who has a lot of hands on experience in alternative building. We have learned a lot in recent years, but now we feel like we need to scale up our level of knowledge.

How long?

We understand perfectly well that you want to travel, but we ask you to commit yourself for at least three to four weeks to our project. This gives us time to invest in you.

We love to share our knowledge and experiences, if needed with a beer or a (home made) cider next to the camp fire. We know a lot about living a live as self-sustaining as possible, but we can also brush up your knowledge about art, mushrooms, philosophy or the pruning of your apple tree. We like to go on an excursion with you, if time allows that.

What's to be done?

You can take over some of the routine jobs, like watering and weeding the vegetable garden, taking care of the donkeys, lugging wood, cooking, removing bracken and gorse. There are also always special projects to help us with.

What are you getting into?

Though Infiesto with all basic facilities is only 4 or 5 beautiful hiking kilometres away, a stay at the place is quite isolated. There are no next-door neighbours. Here it's usually only us and our very modest livestock (1 dog, 2 cats, 2 donkeys, 3 sheep, 6 chickens).

We stay in an old wagon. You have your own place in our old camper van (hot water bottles and warming cats available). Internet is limited here. Checking your e-mail on our laptop is no problem. For other purposes there is free broadband internet in the Telecentro in Infiesto. The good news is that we have warm water in the panoramic shower.

Who we are?

We are Thomas and Astrid. A middle aged Dutch couple that settled for this independent lifestyle in 2007. We enjoy meeting new people and learning things from them in a companiable atmosphere. We do not smoke, do like a beer, wine or cider, but don't do other drugs. We don't expect you to have the same habits.

To conclude

Please tell us in your e-mail about your motivation for wanting to come to our place, and in which month you are available.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use