help exchange   Host 83460
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bembibre
All Year: not winter yet
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83460
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 15, 2018

Hello helpxers! I've put my name on a pile of stones in an abandoned village in northern Spain. There is so much to do, stone walls to repair, rooves to make, where the walls aren't good they will be filled in with straw bale, floors, windows, doors, oak beams, solar power, gardening to do, patio to create, grass roof on one part, slates on another.
The village is at 1300 metres high and has access on bumpy gravel roads and stunning views. There are 60 houses in total with about 10 inhabited. The main ethos is sustainability and to collect as many materials from within the vicinity as possible. An informal community is developing in the village which has already built a communal washroom with well appointed shower room
I will be making accommodation inside as soon as possible but in the mean time I have pleasant but basic spaces available. Plenty of room to turn up in your own camper. This year I start at the end of April through til late October
As you can see there is no shortage of things to do, bring your own skills and learn some new ones. Ever dreamt of building your own home? This is my dream, come and share the experience.
Check out a review on my other host account 21941 where I live part time on a narrow boat in Leicester UK.
A bit about me. A helpx volunteer for the last 5 years. I'm 63 and have spent my life practising my hobby, woodwork, This has also made me a living fortunately, but not a fortune as, in the work/ life balance, I have always been on the side of life! I have always encouraged women to be involved in manual trades. Back in the day I learnt plastering from a woman. I have two lovely kids who I helped to home educate but they are now in their 20's and are both doing well. I have a partner who lives in london.
I like to swim and cycle lots, occasionally doing up to 100 miles. I'm mostly vegetarian.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use