help exchange   Host 83512
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Glenlyon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 28
Persons: 1,2 cpl,fam
Category: Other
Host ID: 83512
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2019

Hi Travellers, My name is Tom and I have 28 hectares (70 Acres) of regrowth forest in Glenlyon, Victoria, with a couple of cleared hectares in which the residence and gardens sit overlooking the river flat.

The gardens suffer a little from a couple of years of neglect and wallaby assault, The river flat is in the process of being cleaned up, quite a bit of fallen timber is being sliced up and taken to the woodyard.
The property is off grid, solar powered, aiming for self sufficiency, and full of interesting wildlife.
My main short term aim is to clean up the area around the house of fallen timber in preparation for the coming fire season. I am rushing about making the place bushfire safe setting up a circle of water throwers and getting places ready to install a couple more water tanks. So I'm burning off and cutting wood and chugging around on a tractor dragging things around. Clearing the blackberries, and lugging the trailer full of logs up to the woodyard and get it full and ready for winter.

I have a shade house up with 9 wicking beds, 4 of which are planted out and growing. 6 to go.
I have most of the materials to build a poultry palace and a few chook tractors.
The gardens are overdue for a major restorative prune, (I've done some) the place being deserted for a couple of years before i found it, and the season is here for that.
I have some trusses and iron and shed bits in a large pile that I'd really like to reconstitute back into a big Man-shed.One needs a big shed up here as the winters are long, and chilly, and usually rains often. I just need a bit of a hand.
Aside from the "essential" jobs I need to complete before winter, I would like to play creatively a bit, and build a stump, cordwood and wattle and daub hut like the settlers did during the gold rush of the 1860's.
I would like to build a couple of hidden shelters in the bushland so one can watch the wildlife in their natural habitat. In my patch of forest I have Eastern Grey Kangaroos, several different species of wallaby, echidnas, possums, koalas and a wide variety of native birds.
There's a general store nearby, some interesting and picturesque local scenery, I have a dam full of yabbies, and some great spots for camping. There's a caravan for your own space, and a cottage suitable for families. 12 km's to Daylesford. Wifi available.
There's a lot to do, but you will be well fed and comfortably housed..
Cheers.
Tom

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use