help exchange   Host 83564
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83564
Region: North Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 10, 2018

I am a passionate beekeeper and semi-serious gardener.

I work with bees so if you are allergic to bees please understand this post is not for you !!

My husband Anthony and I run 2 large properties with diverse fruit trees - we also have two hot houses for vegetables and flowers and we plant and harvest all year round.
Work is MANUAL LABOUR and includes ALL aspects of gardening in ALL WEATHER CONDITIONS. Jobs include : vegetable, flower, berry and fruit picking, all aspects of gardening, property maintenance, small art projects, certain aspects of beekeeping (in spring - summer - autumn)looking after chickens and occasional babysitting to our grandson 3 y.o PerryPaolo.

I also run a B&B on the property and so helpers need to be respectful of this.

We are looking for people who are not afraid of manual labour and getting their hands dirty. Every day is different and chores vary according to the seasons, the trees and maintenance. We are happy to teach people about gardening, fruit trees, vegetables, flowers and beekeeping. We expect a minimum of 5 hours work 6 days a week in exchange of food and accommodation.
(In summer we start work at 6am picking berries before it gets too hot.)

We usually organise for helpers to work longer hours on certain days in order to have more time off on other days.

Minimum stay :1 week in autumn /winter
2 weeks in spring/ summer

Private Accommodation is provided for workers with SHARED bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living room. There is also an external patio with an open fireplace.

There is NO LAUNDRY service but there is a laundrette in Warkworth 20 min bus ride.

Please be aware that this is a NO SMOKING farm!

We provide food for meals but I DO NOT DO COOKING every day for helpers. Cooking is a shared chore and workers take turns preparing meals together . Volunteers MUST keep their accommodation clean and tidy at all times, beds made and personal items put away. House cleaning is to be done regularly

There are some amazing beaches just around the corner from our place - Omaha Beach, Tawharanui Reserve, Goat Island Marine Reserve, Matakana Cinema (Voted Best cinema in NZ !) , Sawmill Brewery, Leigh, Matheson Bay and plenty more .... there is a bus service to Warkworth /Auckland every hour and loads of bicycle tracks, good restaurant and galleries.

There is a regular bus service along our street to and from Warkworth/Matakana towns

Photos are of my bee art projects, our produce, omaha beach, one of my bees, our flowers and one of our gardens

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use