help exchange   Host 83614
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pleasant Hill
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .5
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 83614
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 4, 2019

After being a helper for so many years I've returned to my family's home and have decided we need help! Our gardens are in an apocalyptic state. We had a green house which needs to be fixed up and used again. So if you're looking to help rebuild a garden and help with some landscaping come on by! Not hard work, but maybe not very fun.

Our home: 3 bedroom, one of which is a guest room with a double bed, attached to a bathroom with a bathtub. A second bathroom has a shower. Rec room, satellite tv and wifi, full kitchen. A large backyard, a barn for storage. Next to a cemetery, bus can be flagged down on the road by our house.

Our town: Pleasant Hill is a quiet community surrounded by hills. Often deer are wandering about. Our home is a 15 min walk to the local pub (that serves yummy food), an Italian restaurant, a gym, a grocery market, Dairy Queen, Pizza place, coffee shop, post office, hair salon and an Urgent Care. We live down the road from a horse ranch as well. There's bus that passes through a couple times a day that goes into Eugene (the "city") takes about 30 minutes. Eugene is a great hub for nightlife(always events going on from karaoke, tango, game nights, trivia nights, swing dance, open mic etc) and culture (we have an opera house that often does ballets, concerts, other entertainment) and an arena that hosts modern performers, plus an excellent opportunity to experience college football at it's finest(?) when a home game is on--Go Ducks! Museums, art galleries, amazing book stores, cinemas, etc. It's a very liberal place, a university town, and very hippie friendly. Lots of alternative lifestyles around. Weed is legal in Oregon but we ask that you don't smoke inside the house.

The family: Oliver, a 7 year old boxer terrier mutt, my uncle (newly retired and loving it is also our Dungeon Master for our DnD group Friday nights), and myself--Heidi, 32 years old, world traveler newly returned home. Oliver is a super people-friendly dog, who loves walks and cuddles. He's a bit needy sometimes with affection so anyone who LOVES dogs will enjoy their time here. Cat people might not find him so charming.

The Area: I'd be happy to take you to the coast for a day and make sure you see some of the beautiful sights Oregon has to offer. Greyhound goes up to Portland which is a thriving metropolis so if you want to head up there for a weekend you're free to. There is loads of hiking, hot springs, lakes and rivers in the Willamette Valley. The coast is 2 hours away, the snowy mountains are 2 hours away, Portland is 2 hours away. We are very centrally located :-)

The deal: Very flexible schedule. 4 hours of help a day, 5 days a week, however you want to do it. If it's rainy...which it will inevitably be at some point during the week, we'd have you do some light house cleaning and playing with the dog so he gets some exercise. If you like baking, feel free!
We'll provide a cooked dinner every night, even on your days off. Food is available for you to fix your own breakfast and lunches. We keep our kitchen very well stocked. Can accommodate vegetarians. Our first project will be to attack without mercy the bramble that has consumed our garden. Fixing up the greenhouse. Once those are done it'll be normal gardening stuff: planting, tending etc. There are some other areas on the property I'd like to form other gardens as well. Plant some hedges eventually. Start an orchard. If you have any ideas they are more than welcome!

How to get here: We can arrange for me to collect you up from either the Eugene airport or the Greyhound station in Eugene.

If you have any questions please ask, communication and a clear understanding of expectations keeps everybody happy. It's my hope to share my beautiful State with foreigners and repay the hospitality shown to me while abroad. I have worked in Ireland, Scotland, England, Italy, Australia, many Asian countries and then some. I hope to host you soon!


NOTE: Our dog loves people, but other dogs...not so much. So unfortunately we can't accept helpers traveling with pets.

Pictures: Oliver. Street we live on. Our front yard when it snowed (that doesn't happen often). Sunset at our house. View from top of Spencer's Butte (local hike). Our backyard (we don't have chickens anymore, they lived out there lives in peace and happiness. Lichken was the last to die, surviving off the life force he stole from the other chickens and outlasting them by two years).

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use