help exchange   Host 83940
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 83940
Country: Greece

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2018

Hello, we are Melanie and Evan, a Greek-American/Irish couple living and working on our permaculture homesteading project in a small mountain village (Alagonia, at 800m) in the south of Greece.
For the last 3 years, we have been learning how to live off the land, incorporating village wisdom with modern methods. Our main focus has been growing and preserving the majority of our food, processing surplus food to sell at local markets, retrofitting our ancestral house, clearing and preparing land for future food forests, and learning to organize our lives according to the seasons.
Aside from working towards self-sufficiency, we also hope to provide a viable example of modern, simple, natural living in the largely abandoned Greek countryside. We believe that the multitude of emptied Greek villages scattered throughout the country have immense potential to, once again, serve the needs of the local (and regional) community and even contribute to the regeneration of the natural environment.

Skills welcome:
?? Knowledge of Permaculture, Natural Farming/Living ?? Gardening ?? Handling Machinery (strimmers, chainsaw, mulcher, hand tools) ?? Carpentry/Construction skills

Must be comfortable with using hand tools and carry out tasks thoughtfully. Experience with communal living/working would be helpful. Jobs are usually worked on together. Many of our jobs are labor intensive, but we replenish ourselves well with plenty of good food!

Ongoing tasks include:
?? Vegetable bed Designing (with Intercropping) & Building ?? Seed saving ?? Nursery care ?? Garden Maintenance & Irrigation ?? Sowing, Planting, Weeding & Mulching ?? Natural Building/Upcycled construction ?? Compost heap Composition & Maintenance ?? Tree Planting & Reforestation ?? Compost production ?? Plant & Weed Identification ?? Garden Structure construction ?? Tree Pruning ?? Fencing ?? Wood Harvesting ?? Cleaning Fields
?? Harvesting Fruits & Vegetables ?? Preserving Fruits/Vegetables ?? Cooking
?? General House Maintenance : cleaning, organizing, painting

Upcoming Projects:
Chicken Coop
Compost Toilet

Working Schedule: We try to start our day early, as it gets very hot by the mid-day.

Private room with separate entrance. Shared bathroom and kitchen.

Traditional village house, over 100 years old. Lots of space and sitting areas, including yard and balconies.

Food: We are a Vegan/Vegetarian household. We eat fresh, seasonal, local food. Most of what we eat is grown and preserved by us, and the rest is sourced locally. All meals will be provided. We can share cooking/cleaning up duties. We strive to operate a no-waste kitchen. We usually have a good supply of homemade kombucha.

Water: We have very good drinking water from a nearby spring. Hot water from a thermal solar heater. Sometimes have access to washing machine, otherwise hand-wash and sun-dry.

Everything will be provided: sheets, towels, (olive) soap/detergent, spare/work clothes and gloves

Natural Living: We avoid using non-biodegradable products, as all our wastewater eventually makes its way into the garden.

Waste: We try to compost all our waste, with little recycling and almost zero landfill waste.

Pets: We have adopted 4 cats and a dog, who roam about the yard and garden.

Internet: A bit spotty in your bedroom, but is fast throughout the main house and balcony.

Sorry, no smokers please.

Alagonia is located in the Taygetos mountain range, along with several other villages, including Piges, Artemisia, and Machala. They are within walking distance, and are beautifully scenic routes, whether by paved road or footpath (monopati). There are also some longer marked trails that run through the area, including one that makes its way all the way to Kalamata (about 6 hours). In the village, there are a couple of cafes, and two taverns. We also have a full-size fenced football (soccer) and basketball court. There are usually cultural events that happen even within the village, usually in the summer.
On your time away from the homestead, you may choose to go to Kalamata city. The beach, port, boardwalk, park, and center are all located within a 15-minute walking radius. Our bicycles might be available to you to use. Kalamata has plenty of cafes, taverns, museums, and many cultural events.
There is a bus that runs between the village and Kalamata (and Sparta) two times per week. It is possible to hitch (or find) a ride into the city. We tend to drive down once every one or two weeks, so you would be welcome to join us. Cycling down to Kalamata is another option (1 hour down, 2.5 hours up for experienced cyclists).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use