help exchange   Host 8454
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2 friends share
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8454
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2019

Hello and welcome!
Je parle francais et anglais. I am a Brit who has lived in France for some time.
Now I`m getting old and need help to do things which I could do for myself not so long ago, and I need it as soon as...

J’ai tellement besoin d’aide bientôt. Même quelques jours m’aide.

I like my own space, so a stay of 10 days,at most 2 weeks, is best for me. but you can always come back if we get on well. Lots of helpers have and do.


These are some of the things which need doing. My age is beginning to weigh heavy on me. I need someone bright, dynamic and reasonably fit to help me..
Right now I need someone to help me get organised. My paperwork threatens to overwhelm me.
My craft supplies need organising. Oh! how they need organising! There are lots of craft projects that I have started and am now unable to finish.
Candle making, model making with modroc and chicken wire, patchwork, feltmaking, and that`s just a few! So it could be fun for the right person. After we have done the important work!
Below is ongoing work which still needs doing, but maybe later...
I have an attic which needs some boarding to make it more amenable and less cold in winter. It needs someone who is not afraid of standing on ladders!
There is a lot of work for a handyman/good DIY person. woodwork and general small repairs.
And normally,if there is something you don`t know how to do, I can show you.

In exchange you will be well fed, be in a beautiful and interesting place, and, if you want to, have a nice social life with lots of activities.

I need someone who is happy to get dirty.
I am sad to have to write this but PLEASE NO ALCOHOLICS OR DRUG ADDICTS.
I prefer non-smokers too. Likewise if you have to be connected to you phone 24/7 then this is not the place for you. And it should also go without saying, that if you are racist, homophobic, or any other stuff like that, then this is not the right place for you either...

And I need help to declutter and reduce the quantity of stuff I have.

And I need someone to sort out my laptop, which runs on Linux but is having real problems at the moment...

No I`m not expecting everything in one person, but if you can do any of the things I`ve mentioned, or even if you are just willing to try, then you could be the right one for me!

I do expect everyone to do some cleaning and preparing, as well as some of the `nice` bits.

I live alone in a village on the edge of a small town. It is in a street. If you come here there will be just the two of us. (unless there are two of you, then you will share a tiny twin-bed room.)I also now have another space, so could take 3 helpers, though there is still only one small bathroom!

So far, as a host I have been fortunate enough to have had some of the most amazing helpxers ever, who keep coming back! my life has been greatly enriched by knowing them. And it`s thanks almost exclusively to them that my little house is habitable.
If you have a mature outlook on life and are practical, organised and reliable, can listen to and follow instructions but also work on your own, then you`re right for the job!. I don`t expect to have to wake you, but do expect you to start about 8.30 -9 ish for about 4 hours a day. I also expect help with the housework and cooking. I am a Quaker, I am in a meditation group and a choir, so I am quite busy, though am slowing down recently.
I used to be a helpx helper myself so do have some experience of both sides of the coin. I tend towards a sustainable lifestyle and try to be ecologically aware. So conservation of resources is important, which means, amongst other things, short showers and don`t leave the lights on!
I can cater for vegetarian diets and I`m a good cook. There is a mediatheque 3km up the road.
Well I managed to upload a photo but it`s upside down.`s the bottle wall renewd by Oli. Unfortunately the exceptionally hot summer has finally killed it off. it was impossible for me to keep it watered, so it no longer exists, but now I have to think of something else!
I look forward to hearing from you.

Peace, love and light to you all.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use