help exchange   Host 84582
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Seabright
All Year: Summer/Fall
Area (ha): 1 and 1/3 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 84582
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 30, 2018

We have a lot of projects on the go, and would be happy for some help. Located between French Village and Seabright, Nova Scotia, we're restoring an old house, and a small barn on the hill (which is constructed from beams salvaged from the old church), as well as building a guest house / boat house and a sauna on the wharf, which is also being rebuilt. There is a small garden where so far garlic and onions have been planted. This year, we'll be installing some greenhouse covers over the raised beds to grow more veggies with protection from the wild roaming hoards of deer and hare.

The old house, called 'Dauphinee House' on the deeds,
was built in 1876 and used to house the wharfinger who was charged with overseeing operations at the Dominion of Canada Government Wharf, which is now much smaller, and part of our property.

There is a small private beach below the wharf which provides great swimming, snorkling, and midnight dips in the bioluminescence. We have an 18' traditionally- built (by me) sailing boat and enjoy sailing with friends around the bay. We have a kayak and a bike or two that could be used by helpers.
In the summer there is a weekly open air farmers market in the nearby town of Tantallon, and the famous Peggy's Cove is just down the road (An hour or so by bike).

A little about us: There are two of us and we're in our mid-thirties, and we have no pets. I am a carpenter and work in wooden boat building and repair. I've had the fortune to work closely with old timers and have learned woodworking and mechanics through unofficial apprenticeships. I enjoy the old ways of working with wood, and keep the hand tools sharp. My wife Louise works in Atlantic Salmon conservation. We enjoy making good food with quality local ingredients. We bbq a lot during the summer, often over a fire on the wharf or on the hill.

Tasks here might include: Woodworking, demolition of the old house, swimming, scraping and painting outside of the buildings, gardening, mowing, sailing, restoring old structures, moving around lumber, building rock walls, kayaking, possibly working on the old truck, bbqing, relaxing on the beach, and fencing. We're considering getting some bees, chickens, or maybe even a few sheep, which would require a bunch of fencing. There are so many projects here, and we want helpers to have a good time, so I'm hoping to have a lists of projects that helpers can choose from.

It's important to me that your stay here works well for everyone involved. Louise and I went WOOFing in southern France many years ago, and had a great time, although the listing description didn't exactly align with what we were actually asked to do. Big gardening became babysitting and cleaning out an old barn. So I'm aiming for clarity and accuracy in description here. The road here, Peggy's cove road, is quite busy. It's just a two lane road, but sees a lot of traffic. So expect road noise along with the sounds of seabirds, fishing boats, and birdsong.

We'd be looking for people to come for a week at the most. But just a few days would be a big help.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use