help exchange   Host 84633
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Varsi
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7ha
Persons: 5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 84633
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 2, 2019

Hello wonderful helpers,

My name is Nicco and I am here with the mission not to save the world but to do my best to create a more beautiful environment for all of life to thrive harmoniously :)

Last year together with a wonderful person I have created a non-profit Association dedicated to reforestation, permaculture, environmental conservation and nature connection education. You can read more about it on the website. I live in the Apennine mountains, near a town called Varsi in the province of Parma. Last summer I have acquired for the Association 7ha of land in the area, partly forested, partly ready for new projects.

WHAT WILL WE DO?

I need help in creating no-dig vegetable gardens and a food forest, building a greenhouse, outside compost toilet, gathering wood for winter, bringing back to life the old cellar under the house, clearing the stream from brambles and trash, and many other creative works :)

ACCOMMODATION, FOOD & SURROUNDINGS

You can pitch your tent on the land or stay in the house if the space is available. I often like to sleep outside or in the tent, so in the house there can be space for 4 people, maximum 5. The house faces the forest and it is right at its entrance. It has a kitchen, living room, study room and bathroom on the ground floor and 2 bedrooms with double beds upstairs (if needed one room can also fit an inflatable mattress on the floor). It is part of a small hamlet, mainly composed of holiday homes (few families come from the city for few weeks during the summer and in the weekends). There are no pets in the house, yet :)

We cook together (vegan). My diet is simple, mainly vegetables, legumes, wild plants, fruits and gluten-free grains. I provide water, gluten-free grains and legumes - the nature around provides abundance of wild plants and mushrooms :) We will be sharing the costs of fresh produce by the number of people that will eat it. Obviously if guests will be coming I will cover the extra costs. Occasionally we can go out together for a drink and a good pizza by the river.

I strongly encourage everyone who comes to spend time in the forest, alone and together. We can go for walks and hikes. There's a local, very typical cafè just down the road where the old farmers and villagers go to play cards and drink. The owners are really nice and welcoming people. Varsi, the nearest town (it has a grocery shop, bakery, restaurants and pizzeria, cafes, police station and church) is around 45mins away by foot, 10mins by bike on the way down, maybe 30mins coming back, less then 10 minutes by car.


LIVING TOGETHER

We are at the beginning of this wonderful journey so we need motivated people who come with clear intention to be of help. I don't ask for minimum working hours, we will just tune into everyone's needs :) The space here is open for honest and heartfelt contribution and input. There will be a list of things to do and together we can choose what to do on the day (considering priorities, health, willingness and weather conditions). In the summer we will be working during the cooler hours of the morning and/or the late afternoon. I would appreciate if every morning we could gather in a circle to connect and share how everyone feels. In my experience it's an habit that strengthens and brings clarity to the space and the relationships between everyone.

I meditate and do yoga regularly. You are welcome to join if you would like to :) at the same time I love music and am learning to play guitar, drums and flute, so if you bring an instrument with you we can have nice jams!! :)

GETTING HERE

Depending on when you arrive there is a bus that from Parma central station takes you all the way to Varsi or there is a train to 'Fornovo di Taro' (the closest train station). If I can organise myself to be in Parma on the day you arrive I'll pick you up from there, otherwise from Fornovo train station or Varsi bus stop.

I am looking forward to hear from you and to do some fun work together!

Be happy :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use